We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money stop-over hotel for trip to France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money stop-over hotel for trip to France”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed over one night on a trip to France. Usual good value for money as we booked early. Didn't use the restaurant as we arrived late & left very early. Good facilities, excellent tv, usual clean rooms & friendly staff. Would recommend.
Ian & Bev Taylor, Snaith Yorkshire.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_taylor090659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    420
    149
    50
    33
See reviews for
464
450
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have used this " Lenny " before and staff are outstanding, seemingly even researching if you have stayed before.The pub next door is as expected , but perfectly OK, whilst they are geared up to those using the chunnel. If you like your windows open, ask for the side away from the motorway, obviously.

Room Tip: As above avoid the motorway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happychap103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights here and was extremely impressed by the customer service. A warm welcome at the reception on our first day set the pace for the rest of our stay. All the staff, without exception, were highly professional, friendly and helpful. An extra special mention for Ange from the restaurant, who was simply great! I was travelling with my girls aged 9 to 15 years and every morning she had a suggestion of activities for the day, ranging from the best places to go shopping (a must with teenage girls :) to the spectacular Canterbury cathederal, but not forgetting the memorial of the Battle of Britain.
The rooms were basic, but spotless and functional with clean modern bathrooms and extra towels were provided upon request. The family rooms were not very spacious for 4, but for the time we spent this was not really a problem. We were located in the same building as the reception which was extra practical as it gave us direct access to the restaurant without having to go outside. This was greatly appreciated in the mornings when convincing sleepy teenagers to get up for breakfast! The food was good value for money with a nice varied choice.
The hotel is ideally situated for the channel tunnel & within easy driving distance for Dover, Canterbury, Ashford etc. There is a large car park so never a problem to find a space.
All in all a very positive experience that I would most certainly repeat and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The rooms were quite hot at night. If you are 4 in a family room, be sure to request that the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Saltburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location just one highway exit away from the Chunnel was our main reason for selecting this place. Stayed here twice, once on the way out and once on our way back. It is your typical Premier Inn: lots of purple in the design, fairly narrow hallways, and terrible wireless. The staff at this Premier Inn were really nice, although reception seemed a bit understaffed at times, with large groups of people queueing to check in or out. Breakfast is the same as I've had at other Premier Inn ones: you can have a regular or a 'cooked' breakfast. If you book through booking.com and include breakfast, you will have access to the full breakfast menu, including cooked-to order items. However, if you want fresh fruit etc. with your breakfast, you'll be a bit dissapointed. The wireless is 3 UKP per day, and much worse in terms of performance and convenience as as the free wireless that other hotels include in their offering. The rooms have no minibar of safe.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of a hallway, away from the stairs, so you don't constantly hear ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanut-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I stay at many premier inns but Folkestone channel tunnel takes some beating, the staff have to be the best any can have. I realised my mistake and should have booked a downstairs room as I have limited mobility. They had already carried my luggage up for me. They then came and offered to change my room which I refused as I was only there for one night. I went next door for the evening meal and was made feel welcome by the girl on the reservation desk as I was alone. She put me near to her so that I wouldn't feel conspicuous as a lone lady diner. Hotel clean comfy warm and welcoming all for £30 congrats premier it's a winner. I will definitely always book there whenever possible and so handy for the tunnel. Win win all round.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank seamonkey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location and friendly staff, however my room (70) needed a little face lift. The windows were whistling with the wind. The breakfast was not great. Very convenient for Eurotunnel though, just not quite what you expect from a premier inn these days.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Seb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Totally agree with one of the reviews here about the slamming of the fire doors. Having gone to bed quite late, after driving from Spain non stop to Folkestone, we went to bed at about 2 to 3am. From about 7am, that was the first time I could lift my head up to check the time, I was woken up by constantly slamming of the fire doors. And to compound the injury, loud inconsiderate guests, and then luggage rolling around for extra effects. I know the hotel cannot control the guests inconsiderate manners, but they should consider sound proofing the rooms better. There are stickers to ask politely about keep the noise level down, either people cannot read or can read and chose to ignore it. The pillows were very uncomfortable. When arriving at breakfast at 10am, having pre booked and paid weeks in advance, there was no record of us booking it. Nevertheless, the waitress herded us in. She was friendly, but you could tell, she did not want to be there. When other "unexpected" guests arrived close to finishing time, (I mean people and not the rodent kind) she was non too pleased!! Would I go back there, or would I check in to a Holiday Inn? I think I would go back there if there was no alternative accommodation available. This is because of the bad designed health and safety fire doors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomousemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
988 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Address: Cherry Garden Lane, Folkestone CT19 4AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steal a glimpse of France from the cliff-top promenade The Leas, five minutes down the road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Premier Inn
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing