We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Charming place for a cup of tea and a cake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lavender Tea House

The Lavender Tea House
Ranked #28 of 222 Restaurants in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a Charming place for a cup of tea and a cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We has gone to Folkestone for the day from London , and having had a nice walk along the cliffs were in need of a cup of tea. We had passed it earlier in the day .
There was a good selection of teas, and a special bonus was it was leaf tea, served with a strainer. I had Assam and my husband had Earl Grey . Both were excellent. There was a good selection of cakes and it was hard to choose but in the end I went for the Earl grey tea loaf, and he went for the lemon cake. The tea loaf came with butter and was very light and moist, and tasted very good, so did the other cake, and if we lived nearer we would like to have gone back another day to try another two. The prices are very reasonable, the decor is charming and there is a nice poem on the wall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babarandceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buglyboo, Owner at The Lavender Tea House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to The Lavender Tea House. The cakes change daily so we look forward to welcoming you back to try some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    31
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Chitzy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely quaint tea room with yummy looking cakes (shame about the diet) and lots of choice for tea and coffee without the huge prices associated with the main chains. I had a lovely Jacket potato with cheese - it was massive - and a nice side salad. The other food I saw brought out looked lovely and was well presented. The ladies working that day went out of their way to help the family next to me with two young children, very impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buglyboo, Owner at The Lavender Tea House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Carole. Maybe next time you visit you could try our Earl Grey Tea Loaf which is fat free and always really popular with our customers who are on a diet! Children and families are always welcome at The Lavender Tea House, even though the ancient building is not always pushchair friendly, our staff are always on hand to help out. I'm glad you enjoyed your first visit and hope to welcome you back for many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tea and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had tea and cake with my daughter this morning - lovely! Will go back again until I've tried all the cakes - they had a gluten free option too. Great place - try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buglyboo, Owner at The Lavender Tea House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review Marion! We are always changing our selection of cakes so you've set yourself a very enjoyable challenge and we look forward to welcoming you back and offering our full support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ambience, Quality and Value is Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This tea shop has helped to regenerate Folkstone and bring about a sense of rural Britain in an urban area. Close your eyes, and you could be in Bronte country - the clink of the china teacup and the tea strainer resting on is shabby chic board draws you into the rustic feel of the tea room. The sausage and mash is a real delicacy and, whilst a simple menu choice, you could be eating something equally flavoursome in a trendy joint in central London. The cakes are unbelievable in terms of pricing and flavour ~ £2:30 for a huge slice. You can tell that the owner is passionate about this new venture as there is a bespoke feel to this little treasure which will no doubt become the jewel in the crown to Folkstone. Well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireScrutineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buglyboo, Owner at The Lavender Tea House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We are a new and independent venture and support from locals and customers like yourself, from further afield has been amazing over our first year! We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Folkestone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I hate to duplicate what others say on the title review but the most appropriate word for this tea room is charming. I popped in with a couple of friends today for snacks and refreshments and this place is cosy and welcoming and different to any other establishment that you would pop in for a coffee in Folkestone.
I was under the impression that you would just come here for drinks and cake, but actually they had quite a good range of savoury options on the menu as well which would cater for anyone wanting a bite to eat at lunchtime.
I ordered a sandwich which was lovely and fresh and came with a handful of crisps and homemade coleslaw. It appears that everything is homemade and although I do not really like desserts that much my cake loving friend was very impressed with her cake (I think that it was coffee and walnut)
If you are not drinking tea and coffee they have other high quality refreshments such as Bottlegreen Elderflower cordial and Teapigs herbal teas.
I just love independently owned eateries where a lot of care and attention to detail goes into everything and I will return soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buglyboo, Owner at The Lavender Tea House, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We do, indeed give a lot of care and attention to detail over what we do and reviews like this one make it so worthwhile. You are right about everything being homemade and we also try to source seasonal, local produce where we can, this week's new cake is caramelised rhubarb and ginger!
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lavender Tea House also viewed

Folkestone, Kent
 

Been to The Lavender Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing