We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barrie M” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Switzerland Caravan Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Folkestone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Switzerland Caravan Site
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Barrie M”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

All i can say is wow What a fantastic location. I Arrived Friday evening to be greeted by a very friendly owner. after being directed to a lovely location on the site my wife and 2 children pitched our tent and went to explore the site. the views where out standing looking out and seeing France so clear and also looking along the Cliffs towards Dover with the warren below absolutely stunning .all of the showers and toilets where very clean through out our stay. The cafe restaurant served a great breakfast and had a great choice of hot and cold meals to have through out the day.It was all very reasonably priced and the home made cakes where lovely. The site fee was very reasonable especially considering this beautiful location We will certainly be back very soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcm902013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peasmarsh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just back from Little Switzerland, only a 1 night stay. Charged £19 for my daughter (10yrs) and me. I did query the price and told my daughter has to pay full price because she was 10. My daughter loved the location and wanted to bring back her mum and 2 brothers. Quick totting up of the price for the whole family £45 plus,for one night can't be right can it!No wonder the owner got a flash Audi A8.Toilets and showers filthy, never cleaned. I have just booked a family room in a Travelodge in Cambridge and have paid £42 with breakfast for the whole family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

we booked this site for a tenting weekend and i have to say the site is so nice and clean very peacefull the owners hve been at the site for over 15 years and really know how to look after you noting was to much for them nice people the cafe severs fab food cheap and the bar at night was fab to the toilets are clean but basic but fine to use not much more you need the showers also were clean would love to be back there soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

1. The site manager.is very friendly.
2. Clean toilets.
3. There are very good views of the Dover cliffs.
4. The site is very sheltered site
5. Not expensive.
6. Climb the Cliff for very good Beer and food at the Valiant Sailor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rj2para
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just come back from a fantastic weekend at this truly unique campsite. There were a group of us and we were given our own secluded area close to the cafe, which was ideal for the kids. We were all in tents and it was a very windy weekend but due to the nature of the pitches we were shielded from the wind so you didn't notice which was great. The best bit about the site has to be the views from the cafe which are truly stunning, and the staff owners were brilliant, very helpful and very friendly. All in all it was a fantastic weekend the first i had been on with my kids and was topped off with a display from the red arrows over the sea - amazing. Would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent united kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a 2 night stay, a lovely campsite with amazing views, clean cafe with lovely views from garden showers didn't bed to use but looked clean with good cleaning facilities too recommend the walk up the cliffs to enjoy the views .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank joanna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This site is in a good location and has wonderful views. We booked for a group of 6 families (8 tents) and were given a price list two weeks previous to our visit quoting £8 pp/pn (£4 child).

We checked in on arrival and tried to pay butwere told to pay later. We were given a small private area for our group, approx. 3 minutes walk away from main site facilities. Yes, our area did have two toilets, but neither had a light, one was leaking and the door did not shut on the other, and no hand washing facilities except the tap at the other end of the pitch area.

When departing we went to settle our account. We were then told it was £9 pp/pn, more than quoted just two weeks before. The owner first quoted most of our friends a price about £25 more than expected even at £9 pp/pn and said he would 'do a deal'. The 'deal' price was more than they had expected to pay in the first place! Check the price before pitching!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerrenialPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
1.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Switzerland Caravan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Switzerland Caravan Site

Property: Little Switzerland Caravan Site
Address: Wear Bay Road | The Warren, Folkestone CT19 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Folkestone
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Little Switzerland Caravan Site Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing