We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darts trip 2014”
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Southcliff
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Darts trip 2014”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed in a double room with balcony overlooking the sea for one night on our way to France. The bed was very comfortable, all the usual things were supplied on the room (plenty of coffee and tea). The only downside was a limited number of staff to deal with the demands of reception and other tasks.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get one of the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    165
    169
    87
    84
See reviews for
78
277
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

I booked a double room for one night with breakfast for two and paid £47! The staff were friendly, the rooms was tired as was the ensuite, but the bed, shower and loo were clean! Had a great little cooked breakfast consisting of a sausage, egg, bacon, fried bread, beans, tomato and toast, which was all nice, washed down with juice and a pot of tea. There was. Also fruit and cereals available.
I found this to be excellent value for money. I had booked a room for my parents and paid £52, and their room had been renovated, and was really lovely. They also enjoyed their stay and breakfast.
The hotel is right on the seafront, and the promenade offers a lovely walk. There are bars and restaurants within 10 minutes walk.
This is a perfect stopover for people who accept that a £47 for an ensuite double room with breakfast for two people, isn't going to be like The Ritz!
I am a realistic person who has travelled extensively, and I get so cross with people who insult hotels that are offering a budget service. This is a budget hotel, the clue is in the price.
This hotel also benefits from a small lift, which is useful for luggage and those with mobility issues... Again, this is a small lift, it does what a lift should. It is not the London Eye and you will not fit your whole family and luggage in it, but you will be able to use it sensibly....as a lift!
The four of us will be booking again when we need another budget stopover.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The room i was given number 47 , this was next door to what sounded like the lift operating motor of mechanism the chances of sleep zero!

The bed and i will loosely call it that , the mattress was so soft i was on the bed frame, i would have been more comfortable sleeping in the bath tub!

after trying to sleep i gave up at 1am, the noise from the lift made sleep impossible, I will also add here that I within a few hours came up with bite marks on my shoulders neck and scalp which i have been informed are bed bug bites !!!

the shower ! now that is one which i would have thought would be in a museum!, the last time i saw a hose shower that fixed onto taps was in the 1970's

as i stated i gave up on trying to sleep as the noise from the lift made it impossible, at 1am i gave up thought a cup of coffee to think .. well it would have been nice if milk of any kind was available !

i decided to cut losses as no sleep would be gained and left at 2am, NO night porter was behind the desk so i could not make my points known at the time

To say unsatisfactory is an understatement, I will confirm i will not be recommending hotel or use it again when i am traveling to and from Germany.

Yes the room was low cost £30 for the night , but i have stayed in cheaper with far better quality than yours.

Room Tip: dont have room 47! intact choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Mr Howard
thank you for all 3 reviews I have received via your original web agent, the direct email plus this one. it is always beneficial to hoteliers that we get as much information as possible.

the instant we were informed on the allegations of bed bugs [the 3 emails] we immediately sealed off the room plus the rooms either side and directly below. our pest contractor was on site within a few hours and a full treatment plan was initiated.
from their results afterwards, it wasn't bed bugs [these pesky things breed like mad and can take up to 2 weeks to die off] so without seeing what it was, we are at a loss.
the rooms were then put back on sale after given the green light to do so.

it is a shame that you will never recommend us but there are other properties within Folkestone that you could perhaps try


Ian Jackson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week on Monday night just for the one night.
Folkestone itself is run down so the hotel fits in nicely. If you want a luxury stay you probably wouldn't choose folkestone! If you want something cheap and convenient then the Southcliff is fine.
The location is good and all the staff are friendly and helpful. My room, 45, was roomy and had everything I needed. What lets it down is the condition of the room. General cleanliness is fine but the furniture is tatty and the carpet was in a dire condition.
Breakfast was ok. Very limited cooked selection but what was there was very good quality.
Overall the hotel needs some tlc and with a little attention could really be great. But for £30 a night it served a purpose and does what it says on the tin.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were clean and the staff were friendly but the hotel is very shabby and the breakfast was awful. They charged us £2.50 for a parking voucher as there was no car park and then said the room did not include breakfast and charged another £7.50 each for it you could have got a decent breakfast 10 times better than they were offering in any cafe for half the price. the lift is so ancient it's a wonder it is still allowed to operate.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea would make up a bit for the old fashioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie5918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We used the hotel for an overnight stay before travelling to Europe booked after reading the positive reviews,,was this the same hotel??? You approach the hotel via a set of steps,well worn and in need of some maintenance the actual door was narrow and awkward to bring luggage through,The receptionist was pleasant and explained the parking procedure which meant we had to park some considerable way and carry all our cases etc back to the hotel,thank goodness it wasn't raining| The stairs to our room had an assortment of different carpet types,every where was painted in the most dismal shade of terracotta.Our room was on the 4th floor,it was hot and stuffy 1 window was awaiting repair so didn't open ,the double glazed windows needed replacing and you could hardly see out of them.The carpet was dirty and well worn,the furniture was tatty all only fit for the skip.There was no mattress protector on the bed and the blankets were ones I had had on my bed 40 years ago.The tea/coffee was stuffed in an old cardboard box and included several opened tea bags and sachets of powdered millk! The bathroom was as bad,tired and in dire need of gutting,There were no markings on the taps so pot luck which was hot or cold.,they also were not fixed properly so moved as you turned them on.,Bath took for ever to fill up.and I refute this was the fact that the room was on an upper floor.To top it all in the room info was an advert for New Year 2009 ! We did complain and were shown another room which although had slightly better furniture was still not what I expect from a hotel in 2014.The breakfast was of only fair quality served in a dark smelling of damp dining room which resembled a cellar.Plus side we were served by a very polite very young boy.Never will I repeat this experience again and feel concerned that all the replies on this site by management are" that you won't get such a cheap room as theirs in Folkestone."Goodnes only knows how it got 2 AA stars,

Room Tip: Look at it before you pay and don't go for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseowl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Friendly & welcoming staff. Cosy, well equipped rooms. Great price. Very small lifts, two of us & a case could barely fit in one go! Great location, very close to the funicular railway down the cliff to the beach. We had a lovely unrestricted view of the sea. Would definitely return if we go back to Folkestone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
287 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Property: The Southcliff
Address: 22-26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Leas Promenade, overlooking the English Channel, The Southcliff Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal and 20 minutes from Dover Ferry Terminal. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas. The bedrooms each have tea and coffee facilities and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Rooms also feature a flat screen TV [free view] and ironing facilities [on request]. Some have sea views or private balconies. The Office Bar features modern decor and hosts frequent live music. Southcliff Hotel is a short walk from Folkestone's sandy beach. Folkestone Harbour is a 10-minute walk, and Folkestone Central Railway Station is just half a mile away. The Leas Cliff Hall is only across the road from The Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing