We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy & Friendly”
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Southcliff
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy & Friendly”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Friendly & welcoming staff. Cosy, well equipped rooms. Great price. Very small lifts, two of us & a case could barely fit in one go! Great location, very close to the funicular railway down the cliff to the beach. We had a lovely unrestricted view of the sea. Would definitely return if we go back to Folkestone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    165
    164
    87
    83
See reviews for
78
273
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Can't give anything but 5 stars, as this hotel fitted the bill perfectly.

If you choose the Southcliff, you're purely choosing on price alone. For £32 for a double room, I had no grand expectations. Instead, all I wanted was a room and bed to lay my head on to catch a few hours' sleep.

The staff were pleasant and courteous, the room clean and comfortable, and I got a good night's sleep.

Spot on.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charli_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

1st impressions count & the hotel had obviously seen better days. The room was clean and we were only staying one night which was a good thing as the bed was a bit flat and i would not have wanted to spend more nights in it plus the en suite was basically a converted wardrobe with an antiquated shower. The desk staff were very pleasant. The price was cheap so if you are just passing through & not looking for luxury it is an ok hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cScarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I visited this hotel for a late booking weekend break with my wife. The hotel is gives you what you pay for. It is excellent value, could not be more conveniently located for the centre of Folkestone and had helpful staff.

Yes it has seen better days, but they got the important things right. It was clean, did not miss any essentials in the room and had good staff. I did not eat there so cannot comment on the food

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

As we got our keys at about 10pm the receptionist was very polite and friendly. As we walked into the room it was hot stuffy and stunk of bleach! Luckily we had a balcony so we opened the doors and tried to air it out. The bathroom was small with just a shower and had mold on the walls and ceiling. Morning receptionist was young with tuns of attitude. Said we couldnt pay by card for less than 10 pounds when we had the night before, them mumbled something as we walked off. Breakfast was included... Full English.. With one piece of each on a midget plate. And there was no plug sockets by the bed for phone chargers. I think the man at reception who is manager was very nice and informative. Also last thing. Waiters in the dinning room were lovely, polite, friendly and the best service at the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cpastor_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

If value for money is solely judged by the price you pay for what you get, The Southcliff is just about right.
We booked a sea view with a balcony for one night en-route to Dover and an early ferry, the cost was £54 including breakfast.
The Sunday afternoon and evening staff were friendly but the male receptionist on Monday was a little surly.
The public areas are OK but the décor in room 104 was dark and dismal with varnished plywood in abundance. The en-suite was poky, at most the size of a large wardrobe and the shower tray was pretty scuzzy. The bed was, however, comfortable. The balcony was just that a small area outside the bedroom window with no chairs to sit on. This hotel would benefit from a serious clean up and overhaul using lighter colours to lift the gloom.
Taking a light breakfast of scrambled egg on toast, the toast had been burned and scraped of carbon and the scrambled egg was quite simply disgusting. Condiments were the cheapest possible sachets.
In summary, the price was right but even though my expectations were realistic and not 5 star, The Southcliff was disappointing.
.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffSelvidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Mr Selvidge

thank you for your review after your recent stay.
due to the Victorian building, we are limited in designing bedrooms, however, we will take on board your lighter colour scheme comment as and when we redecorate. but with 70 bedrooms, during the hight of summer, it does take time.

I will speak with the Chef in regards to the breakfast comments, and he will retrain where required.

due to the Folkestone area hosting a Ska festival, it would have been difficult to find a room for below £90 so from our point of view, £54 was a really good bargain, especially the seaview balcony rooms.


Faithfully

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Folkestone as a town has seen better days since the ferries stopped sailing from here at the Rotunda amusement park on the front closed. It would be fair to say that The Southcliff has probably seen better days too, but the point has got to be made that if the hotels owners tarted up the place and brought it into the 21st century, they'd have to charge a lot more for rooms than they do currently. There are not a lot of places in the country where you can get a twin room with breakfast for £35 a night in high season in the middle of August. The Southcliff is invariably one of the cheapest hotels available for booking online in Folkestone. I've always believed you get what you pay for, so I don't set my sights too highly in these places. If I get a good night sleep and a decent breakfast in the morning, then that's just about all I ask for. It's possible to pick up the hotels Wi-Fi in certain parts of the hotel, though the further you are from 'The Office Bar' in the basement the unlikelier you will be to pick it up in your room, but you can ask at the reception desk for the piece of paper with the wireless key-code on it to try your luck. Reception will also lend you a hairdryer if needed, and can provide a £2 day pass for the on-street parking outside the hotel on the Leas which is valid from 12noon to 12noon the next day. You can also pay £1.50 overnight in a private car park on Shakespeare Terrace valid from 6pm to 8am. Neither option is perfect, but neither are they too expensive. Breakfast is served from 7.30am till 9am and the service is generally fine. A lot of coach groups stop here so they are used to getting a high footfall of guests. We've stayed here several times now, both in and out of season, and the place is very rarely empty - the main reason for that is quite obviously the cheap prices the hotel offers. I wouldn't like to make any claims as to how wheelchair accessible the place is - there is a ramp, and also a lift, but the latter is quite small and is barely big enough for one adult and a large suitcase. I've stayed in hotels before now that don't even have a lift at all (it can be a long trek to the top floor at these places!), so the fact that the Southcliff does have a lift, no matter what its size, is really a good thing. If you have a seafront room facing the Leas, the view is really quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mentalmickey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
275 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Property: The Southcliff
Address: 22-26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Leas Promenade, overlooking the English Channel, The Southcliff Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal and 20 minutes from Dover Ferry Terminal. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas. The bedrooms each have tea and coffee facilities and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Rooms also feature a flat screen TV [free view] and ironing facilities [on request]. Some have sea views or private balconies. The Office Bar features modern decor and hosts frequent live music. Southcliff Hotel is a short walk from Folkestone's sandy beach. Folkestone Harbour is a 10-minute walk, and Folkestone Central Railway Station is just half a mile away. The Leas Cliff Hall is only across the road from The Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing