We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Latest visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Have stayed at the grand burstin a number of times so know what to expect. Arrived this time to find you now have to pay to park your car, arrived about 1.30pm so had no trouble finding a space.Check in was fine staff were helpful in explaining car park charges etc. I do wonder what benefit this brings the customer in having to pay to park but cant think of any as you had to have a car park pass displayed previously anyway. Room was fine as it has been refurbished, had this on the previous visit so asked for it again. No view from this room but worth it. Stayed on the free trip to france offer which is very good value including dinner bed and breakfast. The evening meal was well presented and of a good standard, but the breakfast left a bit to be desired, the orange juice tasted more like well watered orange squash, the beans and tomatoes had a taste all of their own and the tea was a bit wishy washy. The toaster either hardly toasted at all or cremated it. Dont stay here expecting the ritz because its not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,998 - 2,004 of 3,851 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

A friend and I wanted a cheap weekend away, and this hotel was ideal. Excellent situation right near the seafront, small harbour and amenities (mainly pubs and restaurants close by).
It has been said before that the hotel is in need of updating, and this is the case. However, our room was very clean and perfectly adequate. For the price we paid we still felt we had had a bargain. We weren't keen on the canteen atmosphere of the dining room so we upgraded to the restaurant on the 2nd night and wished we'd known we could do this the night before. It is well worth another £5 per night, as you also get to use the restaurant area for the breakfast the next day too.
The drink prices we also very reasonable for a hotel, and what we saw of the entertainment seemed to be very popular and people were having a good time. The staff were polite and helpful, especially on the reception desk.
Also included (if you book at least 2 nights) was a trip to France, which again we thought was excellent value. Sadly, our ferry was cancelled through no fault of the driver and he kindly offered to take us to Canterbury instead. We were quite happy with this suggestion as it saved us having to drive somewhere, as we'd already seen most of what Folkestone has to offer.
The only negative, which was not the hotel's fault, was the very noisy local pubs who were playing music at an unbelievable volume until very late at night. We spoke to other guests who had been staying for longer than us, who said it was a regular occurrence and some people hadn't slept for several nights.
All-in-all we were very pleased with our stay and as others have stated: what do you expect for the price?!

Room Tip: Sea facing can have problems with local pub noise, but the views of the harbour are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ellbee62016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We viewed this hotel via trip advisor, the link took me to LateRooms.com were this was on offer at £37 per night down from £145 bargin!
On arrival to folkestone, which is a little run down in appearance, we checked into the hotel, parking is not free as stated on website but at £3.50 for 24 hours still cheaper than the car parks surrounding the hotel.
The evening's entertainment was that of phoenix nights but for the price im not moaning, it consisted of a duo that sang songs from the 50s 60s and 70s, then a few games of bingo, and followed by a swing group and not bad at all.
we retired to the room which overlooked a csrpark with a sea view, and our room was a family one, but as there was only myself and the wife.....lots of space, bathroom reasonable condition same as the room, which needed some decorating but was adequate for our needs and expectations for price paid......dont think it would be worth the £145 asked by the hotel online.
In the morning breakfast good all round, no complaints in that department.
One night stop over fine.......longer well its up to the individual.
And yes there were some builders but they are working on the hotel, not as some are saying stopping in the hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi was available downstairs near the ocean bar, and free. Needs refurbishment if they are lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 50plusNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Pretty grim really but it provides a good bed and truly greasy breakfast which is all you need before a morning tunnel.

Bit cheeky charming for parking but I guess it's a way of topping up the cheap price.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WaterwaysExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. I arrived at 1.50pm and was informed that it was completely impossible to have my room key until 2pm which was by then only 8 mins away. By the time I sat down it was time to queue again with all the other early arrivals. The room I was given was ok in size looking out at the harbour, the ceiling tiles were covered in water stains the bed was lumpy, I could only find one plug to connect to as all the others were just switches on the wall, the water from the tap was either boiling hot or cold and there seems no way to mix the two. Wifi only works in a area about 10ft from reception. Breakfast is like feeding time at the trough and they have the cheek to ask for an extra £5 if you want to eat away from the crowd in the brasserie. I should have gone to the local fish and chip shop. Instead foolishly I choose to eat dinner one night in the hotel. The pictures on the flyer looked great so was expectant. I think the photos of the food on the flyers must have been taken of food from another universe as what was served turned out to be what you would expect from a holiday camp. This is exactly what this hotel is. A cheap holiday camp with a grand name. Be warned.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank leebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night for a night away arrived late . stayed in room 1504 1st floor room small and a couple of hairs in the bath which was still wet if I saw them the cleaning department must have . apart from that bed small but comfortable and enjoyed in.bearkfast ok fry up sausages a bit naff but paid 39 pounds for the night chilled out no drama.would possibly go back again. Shame the port closed but for a 5 er to park no probs

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here on a Half-board basis ... an premium/executive room ... £78 per night for 2 people ... this is part of the Britannia hotel chain ... booked through own website ... same price from booking agents, so no savings there ... it seems prices vary even on thier own website so search thouroughly for best deal.

ROOM ... got a nice room on 12th floor with large concrete balcony ... phoned before arrival to ask for high floor with balcony ... was told they would put in a request but it was not guaranteed it is subject to availability ... these rooms are on the 7th to 13th floors and vary considerably ... so in other words POT-LUCK ... we were lucky i guess ... some of the so called premium/executive rooms dont have balconies ... i would not have liked a room without ... and some with small confined metal rail ones ... so good luck if you choose to stay here.
As it turned out the view was spectacular, the white cliffs of dover, the harbour, and the panoramic horizon ... we were on the front side of the hotel ... didn't see any Bluebirds but plenty of Huge seagulls that swoop around and poo on the windows and balconies ... one of the uncontrolable hazards of being by the sea.

HOTEL ... total mish-mash of rooms and clientele ... would not have liked a standard room or recommend for anyone ... cheaper but look small with small windows and not much view on lower floors, so once again research thoroughly ... very busy ... check-in/out was OK we were half hour early but no problem ... could be hectic at busy times ... a couple of bars ... 2 restaurants, smaller and more comfortable one for "premium dining" as they call it with Chefs Specials, £5 pounds extra for Standard room guests ... larger one for Standard rooms... large ballroom/entertainment venue with cabaret and dancing ... not our kind of thing ... but saw some people happily doing the conga on the way out back to thier rooms to sleep
Most of the hotel could do with a lick of paint, redorating and modernisation with the emphasis on creative design ... but this would be a huge and expensive job to bring the place up to date ... not "Shabby chic" more like "fading glory" ... the gaming machines in the lobby are a bit nasty.
ALL in ALL Grand old building with lots of 60s'ish add-on willy-nilly extension blocks in need of some TLC.

FOOD ... typical hotel buffet-style help-yourself all-you-can-eat ... some good, some not so good ... it is your choice ... if you dont like it leave it and go get something else.
Large choice for breakfast ... cereal, fruit, toaster + white or brown bread butter jam etc. cold continental style or cooked full english, fruit juice, iced water, tea and coffee.
Dinner lots to choose from 3 courses + coffee and mint chocolates (nice touch) Various salads, side dishes such as cous-cous,pasta salads etc. 3 "chefs specials" + other main dishes, Several sweet dishes, cakes etc. choice of cheeses and biscuits with fresh white & red seedless grapes (another nice touch) ... i see some people have said the food is awful ... but, as in most chain hotels it is not cooked-to-order or home-cooked ... it is buffet-style and edible ... and because you can pig-out or eat carefully you will be satiated ... it is your choice !!! ... if you need 1st class food then go to a boutique or 5 star+ but you won't get it for this price.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank maspalomas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: $33 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing