We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed August 17, 2013

we could not find anything to moan about.food was first class 4 courses every night room was clean and tidy maybe the furniture was a bit tired.but the entertainment more then made up for this.room had a first class view of the harbour. has this was a coach trip for 4 nights there was a 99p bar for 3 hours every night . all in all for the 2 of us less then 300.00 for a week including trips now that has got to be a bargin.you wont please everybody some people will moan about anything first class value for money will return again.thanks tom [ bristol]

Room Tip: i read the reviews befor we went and we were gutted. but how wrong was that it was the opposite fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,460 - 2,466 of 3,885 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

After check in and getting into lift for 6th floor ( my son was scared as they did not appear reliable) the hotel needs new carpet or at the least to be hoovered. Our room was disgusting. Dirty sock in the corner of the room Staines all over the carpet valance sheets that are not changed regularly and have Staines all over them. I asked for them to be changed and the where but I'm not sure they where any better. The bathroom floor had dirt all over it that needed hoovering. I paid extra to eat in the Victorian restaurant and the food was mediocre but the coffee and Juice are exceptionally bad. Staff where gormless young kids with no understanding of customer service. With the exception of 1 kind waitress at dinner.

I could not wait to get home to a clean environment. I can not express to you how dissapointing our stay was.

Never ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Arrived back from Burstin after a weekend coach trip. Apprehensive after reading comments on trip advisor prior to leaving, however, second floor room was newly decorated and clean, withfantastic view over the harbour towards the White Cliffs of Dover. Cleaned daily with fresh towels.
Food was fine and one evening we upgraded to the Victoria Restaurant for an extra £5 each, more variety and relaxed atmosphere.
Taking into account what we paid for a 4 day trip including, bed, breakfast,evening meal and two excursions,one to ostend and one to Hastings, certainly value for money. We would give the Burstin another go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carogsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is dirty, old, impersonal, the rooms are not up to date, much too small. Breakfast is mediocre and bad coffee. The audience is in accordance with the hotel. Not recommended!!
August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Eva Barbara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Another visit to the Grand Burstin. Courtesy of National Holidays.
Another Good weekend. What more could you want. Nice Food. Good Staff. Rooms reasonable not Brilliant but you get what you pay for. Heard plenty of Gripes.
Come on Folks what more do you want.
£89.00 pp and for that we got 3 Nights BB & Evening Meal. Decent rooms. Food was fair always something to eat. Breakfast Plentiful. Entertainment. Day trip to Bruges. Day Trip to Canterbury. Plus of course the Transport.
YES it was a bit of a rush but its what was on the Intennary.so read it.
Many Thanks to the Burstin & National Holidays.
We will be back
,

Room Tip: High Floor Facing the Harbour. Beware of the Seagulls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 402RobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here as part of a coach tour to Kent and Ostend.
Notwithstanding the fact my husband is eighty we were put in a designated smoking room on floor 6 and it smelled strongly of stale nicotine. On request for a change of room, we were told that it was full, but they would "spray it"

There was no bath-mat provided - we were told they "didn't do them" Apart from the bad smell, the room was clean and serviced, though the furniture was in a fragile state. We were at the back of the hotel and it was noisy

The hotel was packed and the staff run off their feet, just too busy to be relaxed and friendly.

The food was excellent and plentiful.

On checking out, only one of the three lifts servicing our floor was working

Room Tip: Try for a non-smoking room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Burstin and we have always been satisfied. By British sea side resort standards, this hotel is newer than most. It is a bit well worn in places but seems to be under continual renovation.
Our room was relatively modern, on-suite and with ample wardrobe and drawer space. Whilst it was plainly decorated, it was certainly not cramped and was very clean. The bathroom was quite good with plenty of towels and shower gels etc. The only let down was the postage stamp size CRT television, but even then the picture and programme selection was ok.
The food was very good and served buffet style with a reasonable selection which would cover most tastes. For anyone who likes a full English breakfast, it could only be described as paradise. However, the main dining room tends to be very hectic especially during busy times, there can be a shortage of tables etc. There is an upgrade option to the Victorian restaurant, the food is the same, but it has better tables with much more room, it is quieter and the waiters provide a drinks service. The cost is £5 per day and this covers breakfast and dinner. This option is strongly recommended.
We found the bar 'happy hour' extends from 11am to 8pm, during this time a pint of bitter is £2.45 and the other drinks are priced accordingly. After 8pm the price increase to £3.25 per pint which is still not bad for a hotel when you consider entertainment is included. It is possible to run a bar tab, but this has to be arranged with reception.
The entertainment includes the inevitable bingo, but there was a very good 2 piece band followed by a small team of singers and dancers. Perhaps not what you would expect at the O2 Arena, but it makes for a pleasant evening.
After taking everything into consideration, including what we paid, we were not surprised that the hotel was full, we certainly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackhawk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
6.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: $38 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing