We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of Wards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wards Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a lovely building with alot of character. The hotelier was very welcoming and friendly. The room was very well decorated and the bed very comfortable. It was very quiet despite being on a town road in Folkestone. It was in easy walking distance of restaurants although we could have eaten in the hotel ( have heard good reviews on restaurant food)The breakfast was included and was a lovely full English. Thankyou for a lovely stay :-)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Esmeralda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 322 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here with my 4 year old daughter last weekend before our ferry crossing over to France. I was so impressed with the friendly and accommodating reception we received from the owner Connan during our short stay and how especially good all the staff were with my daughter. Our room was really spacious, stylish and clean and the bed was absolutely A-mazingly comfortable. I had such a good nights sleep despite the fierce storm outside which was a god send as our onward journey to France was a longer than I'd anticipated. As for the food, well I'm sure you couldn't find a better restaurant in town! My food was exceptional and once again they went out of their way to accommodate my daughters odd food requirements. I will definitely be returning to Wards hotel next time i'm in Folkestone and would recommend it to anyone with or without kids.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brentmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights after exhausting transatlantic trip. Connan and the staff were exceptionally attentive and responsive to every request. The bed was both elegant and perfect for a good night's sleep. The restaurant exceeded our expectations in both variety of cuisine (eg traditional English and pan-Asian) and quality. As noted in other reviews, renovations are in progress, so not every detail of the hotel is perfect, just yet. Location,btw, is convenient and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CG121212, Owner at Wards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It's very good to hear you found our service 'exceptionally attentive and responsive to every request' and enjoyed such a good night' s sleep.

As you note, renovations are in progress. We're enchanted by your follow-up comment: 'so not every detail of the hotel is perfect, just yet.' Do come back soon and see how far down the road to perfection we've traveled! Very best wishes, Mr Gupta..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Ward's as a family group of four the night before our crossing to France. From the moment I booked, I felt that this was a good choice. The emails from the owner were friendly and helpful. We stayed on a Sunday night in late October, the night of one of the very bad storms and high winds on the south coast. The care and consideration shown to us by staff regarding our safety and comfort were commendable. The two rooms that we were allocated were both spacious, clean and very comfortable. One of them was one of the refurbished rooms but they were both of a very high standard. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. I really cannot fault this hotel and it is excellent value for money. Its in a very good location, near to the seafront and town but in a nice quiet road. The sleep quality would have been very good if it had not been for the high winds. Not the fault of the hotel though! I'm looking for an excuse to go to Folkestone so that we can stay at Ward's. Maybe another Eurotunnel crossing!

Room Tip: All rooms seem very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KipperDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CG121212, Owner at Wards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

We're delighted to hear you were so pleased with your choice of Wards and during your stay with us. This is the sort of review that makes a pleasure to come to work in the morning. It's wonderful to know you found the rooms 'spacious, clean and very comfortable' and enjoyed breakfast.

You say 'I'm looking for an excuse to go to Folkestone so that we can stay at Ward's.' It's looking like a glorious summer and there's the terrific Folkestone Triennial coming up ... ! We're very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks again, Mr Gupta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife stayed here last week and was most impressed. She said:
The hotel was spotless and after talking to the owner he informed her that he has already completed 30% of the renovation programme which was evident in the reception/bar/restaurant area, Although her room was one of the older ones it was spacious and very clean. Once the renovations are fully completed Folkestone will have a "little gem". Nothing is too much trouble for the owner or his staff who are all charming and helpful - what more could you want. She's not a big breakfast eater but said what she saw being served to the other guests looked very good.
The very best of luck to Connan and Wards Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I went there for our staff xmas party,I work for Sainsburys, on the 14/12/13,the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent,cannot fault anything. The decor and all the tables were set out very well with lots of room to get about. I would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 903Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Wow the food was perfect, Connan and his team of staff were very attentive to our needs and made us all have a wonderfull night. connan has paid a lot of attention to what the customer requires and i must say he didnt let us down at all. The new refurbishment looks great as well. well done to you all.
Jake and sharon Sackett.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakesackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.3 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
493 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wards Hotel

Address: 39 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wards hotel is a spacious detached Edwardian Property. As a family run hotel, we recognise varied needs of our guests from business travellers, to touring holiday makers. Wards Hotel was built in 1901 as part of the Lord Radnor Estate. All rooms are on the first or second floor. We have rooms suitable for family accommodation - for your convenience we can offer you a cot, a highchair and children's meals. We also have a free on site car park. Our A La Carte menu offers a wide of range of international dishes and a selection of vegetarian meals. Coffee and liquers can be served in the lounge after your meal. Our bar is equipped with a variety of wines, Scotch whiskies and non-alcoholic beverages. Wards hotel is ideally situated within close proximity of the M20 Motorway (0.21 miles), Harbour Ports (2-8 miles)and Channel Tunnel (2 miles), Wards is ideally situated for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wards Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing