We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great restaurant, great staff, great value”
Review of Wards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wards Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great restaurant, great staff, great value”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is in the best location - the west end - close enough to walk from the station but also really close to the sea front on a lovely road. It's large, maybe ten rooms, a bar and restaurant with great food - the breakfast is great and dinner was lovely - the owner told us the chef was from the Park Lane Hilton and you can tell. The food is great. It was my first time in Folkestone and it's really fun anch chic and the staff really helped us out with places to visit, really nice cafes, galleries etc. The lanes in town and really worth walking through. .The owner told us the place is being refurbished so we're planning to go back in June. The staff are lovely, the location is great, great service, nice room, wifi, all good. Great value for money.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor - really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    97
    19
    2
    5
See reviews for
69
135
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went there on recommendation from friends, throughly enjoyed the food. The service was good and the staff very friendly. Would surely recommend it. Very resonably priced. All in all an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aruna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltern am See, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my family from 20 to 21 April 2013. The first thing I was looking for was off-street parking, which none of the cheaper hotels in Folkestone seems able to offer. This was no problem at Wards. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped (modern TV sets, bathroom fittings, etc.). They were also extremely clean - couldn't find a speck of dust anywhere! What particularly impressed all of us was the friendliness of the staff. We had a four-year-old boy with us - in many hotels, he would just be a pain in the neck, but at Wards they treated him very courteously. The prices were extremely reasonable and breakfast was included. The Asian food that we had for our evening meal was very tasty indeed. We will definitely be staying at Wards again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here over the Easter weekend and it was lovely to visit this seaside town for the first time. Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The food was fantastic, and a good selection to choose from. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
The commute from London was very easy with the fast train and only a short pleasant walk from the train station makes this hotel very accessible. I look forward to visiting again in the summer months to also enjoy more of the sea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatA1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

wards hotel is a revelation, the staff are always friendly and attentive ,my room was spacious clean and very comfortable.
charges are more than reasonable,but,the 'jewel in wards crown' must be the excellent food...
the new pan asian menu is both innovative and delicious as is the 3 course sunday carvery.
This quaint seaside hotel is an absolute hidden treasure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmacd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went down to Folkestone for a friends birthday. Stumbled across this little retro chic gem. Just a short walk to the seafront or the quaint old town. Great value for money. Staff unbelievable and so friendly and accomodating. Bedroom was large and very comfortable (complete with spa bath!). Breakfast included and ask for more if you still hungry. Nothing was too much trouble for the team at Wards.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeywelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I visited the Ward twice recently and enjoyed both experiences. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the food was of exceptional quality in both taste and presentation. The charges were also very reasonable. The new menu is very tempting, we particularly plan to try their Sunday carvery one of these days.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel near the sea and the famous Leas together with the family friendly ambianc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amigoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.4 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wards Hotel

Property: Wards Hotel
Address: 39 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wards hotel is a spacious detached Edwardian Property. As a family run hotel, we recognise varied needs of our guests from business travellers, to touring holiday makers. Wards Hotel was built in 1901 as part of the Lord Radnor Estate. All rooms are on the first or second floor. We have rooms suitable for family accommodation - for your convenience we can offer you a cot, a highchair and children's meals. We also have a free on site car park. Our A La Carte menu offers a wide of range of international dishes and a selection of vegetarian meals. Coffee and liquers can be served in the lounge after your meal. Our bar is equipped with a variety of wines, Scotch whiskies and non-alcoholic beverages. Wards hotel is ideally situated within close proximity of the M20 Motorway (0.21 miles), Harbour Ports (2-8 miles)and Channel Tunnel (2 miles), Wards is ideally situated for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wards Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing