We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hideaway in Folkestone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocksalt Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocksalt Rooms
Ranked #9 of 29 Folkestone B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hideaway in Folkestone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here on NYE and loved it. We had dinner in the restaurant - checked in before hand and walked the 1 min over to the rooms. We stayed in Valentine room, which. Had a lovely view over the harbour and over the roof tops out of another window. The room is not large, and there is not a huge amount of space for clothes and bits but as we were only there one night, it was perfectly fine. The bed was super comfy, the wet room coped with my mammoth shower and the under floor heating soon sorted out the wet floor. The breakfast was yummy and it felt fab eating on the bed - though you could walk onto the beach if .you wanted I'm sure. The staff were excellent -very helpful and welcoming. Just lovely. We will definitely be back. We also thought it was good alum for money.

Room Tip: We were in valentine, which I've heard is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review following your NYE stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed 'Valentine' so much, it certainly is one of our most popular rooms. I hope you enjoyed breakfast in bed - what a perfect way to start the New Year!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
9
91
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The la la room we stayed in was lovely . Beautifully decorated and very cosy. Nice bathroom too. Some welcome mince pies most appreciated. You do get some noise from the street so if you are a light sleeper- avoid.
Breakfast is brought to the room in a picnic hamper. A really nice idea but not particularly substantial. The warmed pastries are nice but not sure why they give just one yoghurt pot with fruit compote ( very good by the way)- bit weird to have to eat half the yoghurt before giving to your other half! But all in all a nice, and reasonably priced place to stay

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraC012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the mince pies on arrival!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Rocksalt Rooms last night after a fabulous lunch in the restaurant. Styled beautifully, our room Valentine had a sumptuously comfortable bed; crisp bed linen with the warmest duvet on the planet and everything you would expect in top class accommodation. The staff were really helpful, providing fresh milk and our breakfast hamper last night to facilitate our having to leave early this morning. Highly highly recommended. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Rebecca, I am so pleased that we were able to assist with arranging breakfast in time for you to leave.
I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked Valentine (sea view double). Considering the harbour side location this is a very peaceful spot. A real boutique hotel. Great decor and a cute wet room. Good use of (limited) space. Comfy bed and thick curtains meant a really good sleep. The staff are friendly and cheerful and the picnic breakfast of fruit and warm pastries was good fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how comfortable you found your stay in one of our rooms. We hope that you are able to come and stay again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked a room at Rocksalt rooms at the last minute for a romantic break with my fiance.
It was amazing. The rooms are very elegant and clean, the beds very comfortable and every single thing is done to very high specs. I loved breakfast served in hamper baskets!

We also had lunch at the Rocksalt restaurant and the food was simply one of the best I've had in my life. It is expensive but well worth the price.

All in all, I was very happy with our weekend there and would definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMoona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about our accomodation and restaurant. We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked dinner and a stay at Rocksalt to celebrate a best friend's birthday. We live pretty locally, but had heard great things and thought we would stay the night too. Upon arrival, we were met by a very friendly staff member who showed us to our rooms (We were in 'Kittens'...they all have great names. Our friends were in La La) and talked us through the details and settled us in. The rooms, though small, are beautifully decorated and have a real attention to detail, are extremely comfortable and used to be the old smoke house. We joined our friends back at Rocksalt and went to the bar upsatirs for a birthday drink. The bar is gorgeous! It looks out onto the bay and you can sit outside and under cover if it rains with blankets if it is too cold. We passed a lovely couple of hours on a sunny afernoon and looked forward to dinner.
This certainly did not disappoint! The meal was fantastic and really well priced! The service was great and we were left to enjoy a very leisurely meal and watch the sun set. The restaurant is right on the harbor and is made of glass so the views are stunning. The next morning, a breakfast hamper with croissants, fresh juice, homemade yoghurt and fresh strawberries arrived and topped off a great stay.
The only gripe we did have was the service at the bar area in the afternoon was poor. Admittedly, at first, we were the only patrons, but we were staying over and we were spending and we often had to go and find someone to order more drinks or nibbles (which were fantastic, by the way) but this didn't really spoil things...just a pest for one of us to go wandering off.
Overall, we will be back and we would certainly recommend this to anyone and would advise them to stay...but book early, they only have 4 rooms but all at good prices.

Room Tip: 'Kittens' has 2 bedrooms for families, one double and one single with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your visit to Rocksalt Rooms. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time here and hope that your friend enjoyed their birthday. I do apologise if the service in the bar was a little sporadic, I will certainly be bringing this up at the next staff training day. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St albans
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner took me to Rock Salt for my birthday, what a treat!! When we got
there we went in to the smokehouse fish and chip shop (part of rock salt)and asked were we could collect our keys, straightaway we where shown across the road to check in first at Rock Salt, the helpful and really pleasant girl that took us across gave us a taste of the way we would be treated .
We stayed in their beautiful room’s very boutique style wonderful view of the harbour really stylish. Every think you could need was there again couldn’t be more helpful.
We went across to Rock Salt in the evening enjoyed cocktails in there bar on the upper deck. The boys behind the bar were entertaining good at there job and made that a good start to the evening.
We were given a wonderful seat in the restaurant over looking the harbour. Although all the seating had an excellent view.
The food was beautifully presented and cooked we went from appetizers of cockles and radish with anchovy sauce to starters of Harissa Crab and kippers with poached egg to our delightful mains of Roasted turbot and Blackened sea Bream , accompanied by a well recommended Bottle of Chablis.
We even had to make space for the dessert a really light Mille Feuille.
Perfect in everyway and made memorable by the great staff.
The stay was topped off in the Morning by a delivery to our rooms of a really tasty Breakfast Hamper. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonneStalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help make your birthday so special. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, we do hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
1.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocksalt Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocksalt Rooms

Property: Rocksalt Rooms
Address: 1-3 Back Street, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocksalt Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rocksalt Rooms are the perfect way to enjoy the beauty of Folkestone Harbour, or indeed to start or finish a meal with us in either of our restaurants. We have four boutique bolt holes, each with their own personality and dressed with Egyptian cotton, original antique beds, flat screen televisions and wet rooms. With stunning sea views, the rooms are situated on Folkestone Harbour and are just a short walk from Rocksalt restaurant and The Creative Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rocksalt Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocksalt Rooms Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing