We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way To Celebrate A Birthday”
Review of Rocksalt Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocksalt Rooms
Ranked #8 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Way To Celebrate A Birthday”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked dinner and a stay at Rocksalt to celebrate a best friend's birthday. We live pretty locally, but had heard great things and thought we would stay the night too. Upon arrival, we were met by a very friendly staff member who showed us to our rooms (We were in 'Kittens'...they all have great names. Our friends were in La La) and talked us through the details and settled us in. The rooms, though small, are beautifully decorated and have a real attention to detail, are extremely comfortable and used to be the old smoke house. We joined our friends back at Rocksalt and went to the bar upsatirs for a birthday drink. The bar is gorgeous! It looks out onto the bay and you can sit outside and under cover if it rains with blankets if it is too cold. We passed a lovely couple of hours on a sunny afernoon and looked forward to dinner.
This certainly did not disappoint! The meal was fantastic and really well priced! The service was great and we were left to enjoy a very leisurely meal and watch the sun set. The restaurant is right on the harbor and is made of glass so the views are stunning. The next morning, a breakfast hamper with croissants, fresh juice, homemade yoghurt and fresh strawberries arrived and topped off a great stay.
The only gripe we did have was the service at the bar area in the afternoon was poor. Admittedly, at first, we were the only patrons, but we were staying over and we were spending and we often had to go and find someone to order more drinks or nibbles (which were fantastic, by the way) but this didn't really spoil things...just a pest for one of us to go wandering off.
Overall, we will be back and we would certainly recommend this to anyone and would advise them to stay...but book early, they only have 4 rooms but all at good prices.

Room Tip: 'Kittens' has 2 bedrooms for families, one double and one single with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your visit to Rocksalt Rooms. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time here and hope that your friend enjoyed their birthday. I do apologise if the service in the bar was a little sporadic, I will certainly be bringing this up at the next staff training day. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    17
    12
    2
See reviews for
9
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St albans
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner took me to Rock Salt for my birthday, what a treat!! When we got
there we went in to the smokehouse fish and chip shop (part of rock salt)and asked were we could collect our keys, straightaway we where shown across the road to check in first at Rock Salt, the helpful and really pleasant girl that took us across gave us a taste of the way we would be treated .
We stayed in their beautiful room’s very boutique style wonderful view of the harbour really stylish. Every think you could need was there again couldn’t be more helpful.
We went across to Rock Salt in the evening enjoyed cocktails in there bar on the upper deck. The boys behind the bar were entertaining good at there job and made that a good start to the evening.
We were given a wonderful seat in the restaurant over looking the harbour. Although all the seating had an excellent view.
The food was beautifully presented and cooked we went from appetizers of cockles and radish with anchovy sauce to starters of Harissa Crab and kippers with poached egg to our delightful mains of Roasted turbot and Blackened sea Bream , accompanied by a well recommended Bottle of Chablis.
We even had to make space for the dessert a really light Mille Feuille.
Perfect in everyway and made memorable by the great staff.
The stay was topped off in the Morning by a delivery to our rooms of a really tasty Breakfast Hamper. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonneStalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help make your birthday so special. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, we do hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We visited for one night in July as a special treat for a birthday and stayed in LaLa room. We had a table booked at the restaurant and the rooms were good value so decided to make a weekend of it. The rooms are really well decked out, and although small, they provide everything you could want. The overall feeling is of high quality throughout with crisp bedlinen, ipod docks and amazing shower in the wetroom. Lovely touches include milk for your own coffee machine and the breakfast hamper the next morning. We loved this hotel and look forward to visiting again in the winter when I'm sure the room will be even cosier. The restaurant food was amazing too. Make you sure have time for a drink on the rooftop terrace too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We so appreciate all the details you have included that help us to see which aspects of the stay our guests enjoy so much. We’re glad you had a special birthday and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the Rocksalt Rooms, didn't get a sea view sadly, but you are right on the quayside with the sound of the gulls, so it's a great setting nonetheless. Our room was small (I guess they all are) but had everything we needed, including a decent wet room. Exposed brick walls and natural wood furniture give the room a simple, stylish feel.

If you have travelled specially to eat at Rocksalt, these rooms are a must - just a few steps from the restaurant.

Breakfast arrived in a picnic hamper delivered to the door, juice, pastries, yoghurt and granola, with real linen, and there is a machine for coffee making in the room.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Rocksalt Rooms and appreciate the time you have take to leave such a lovely review. Hopefully next time, we’ll have a sea view room available for you to make it that little bit more special.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed for a Sunday deal with a room, could not fault the room or service of the staff, had a great time, the manageress is very helpful and made our 10th wedding anivirsairy very special, this is the second time I've been here and I must say it gets better every time

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, we’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially since it was such a big occasion. We look forward to seeing you again and again!

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Only stayed for one night lovely rooms our party had three of them.Had cocktails and evening meal at Rocksalt all very good!Quiet noisy in the morning as you would expect staying on the habour and we did have the windows open all night!Had a lovely walk along the coast towards Dover and saw a seal bobbing about.All in all a very pleasant stay would recommend ,we will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We’ve been looking out for the return of our friendly seal that used to visit us in the harbour, nice to know he’s still around! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

As well as eating in the restaurant my wife & I stayed one night in the "Valentine" room to celebrate her birthday.

The four rooms are located a very short walk from the main Rocksalt restaurant and located above The Smokehouse, their sister fish & chip restaurant. Has a card swipe entry system which was swish

The "Valentine" room is located on the top floor, facing out across Folkestone harbour and over the adjoining rooftop, giving you an excellent view over the harbour.

The common areas are decorated superbly with old pictures of the harbour hanging. Found the air freshener very strong on arrival which was promptly turned down as way overpowering.

The room has a feeling of a downtown loft apartment with high vaulted ceiling, exposed brick work, feature wallpapered wall, antique-esqué radiators and dark wooden laminate flooring.

Not a large room as other reviews have mentioned but well equipped with new fangled coffee capsules and associated machine, wall mounted LCD tv, hair dryer, water and sweets. Coffee machine doubles as hot water for tea but if you want a drink before your complimentary breakfast, it had to be black as no milk supplied, fresh or UHT.

Bathroom/wetroom was small but well laid out with glass shower divider keeping the Niagara of showers contained.

Was not noisy from outside during the evening or in the morning, even the sea gulls were quiet. Were aware though of other guests walking down the stairs and the landings.

The complimentary breakfast was delivered with a knock to your room in a mini hamper, consisting of croissants, milk and small portion of berries. Now you can have a white tea or coffee!

The room was available from 3pm (ask at the Rocksalt reception) and checkout was 10am. For £85 per night I felt it was good value for money I thought.

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Book "Valentine" for a great view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Thomas_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! We’re sorry you were not given fresh milk on arrival, this is usually offered to all our guests along with the milk brought to the rooms at breakfast. We hope to see you again soon and if so, do please feel free to come and see us at the Restaurant or give us a call anytime from your room, as we will always do our best to provide anything you might need during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
0.7 mi away
10to12 Folkestone
10to12 Folkestone
#1 of 26 in Folkestone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocksalt Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocksalt Rooms

Property: Rocksalt Rooms
Address: 1-3 Back Street, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocksalt Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rocksalt Rooms are the perfect way to enjoy the beauty of Folkestone Harbour, or indeed to start or finish a meal with us in either of our restaurants. We have four boutique bolt holes, each with their own personality and dressed with Egyptian cotton, original antique beds, flat screen televisions and wet rooms. With stunning sea views, the rooms are situated on Folkestone Harbour and are just a short walk from Rocksalt restaurant and The Creative Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocksalt Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocksalt Rooms Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing