We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub good food”
Review of The Guildhall

The Guildhall
Ranked #128 of 226 Restaurants in Folkestone
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice pub good food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A friendly welcome to a proper pub with real ales and god pub food at reasonable prices was recommended by a friend and was well worth the visit. Handy for the town centre so pop in for a pint and lunch while shopping.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Proper pub”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Well kept beers,many consecutive years in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide.
Good family run establishment, the Food is Excellent, the service also.
Heated smoking area at the rear for those that do, a pool table comfortable seating, lovely locals atmosphere .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LOBSTER64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“And again - YOU ARE GREAT!!! *****”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What else can I say!

My husband and I went there for lunch today; hadn't done this in a little while. Gilly and Stuart are always very welcoming and the atmosphere is just warm and comfy. The catch of the day was excellent as always and so was my all-time favourite chilli con carne.
This pub is suitable for couples, families and friends to meet and have a nice beer/ale/wine/... and a chat together. The background music is always well chosen and remains what it should be - BACKGROUND music.

Thank you, we have again enjoyed ourselves fabulously!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very warm welcome from the landlady and such a friendly atmosphere in the pub. The food was tasty home made. We thought ourselves lucky to have chanced upon the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“one of these nice British pubs”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been here with a local [ since I recently moved to Folkestone] and I was looking for something really typical. and it is. very friendly pub with regular customers that welcome you as if they have known you forever. nice drinks, atmosphere. as for the food, I guess it s good for many people.not saying it s bad but I m not extatic about it. I have had better since I live in England. but its ok. May be I m way too fussy since I m French and we do love our food :P

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Murielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guildhall also viewed

Folkestone, Kent
 
Folkestone, Kent
 

Been to The Guildhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing