We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guildhall

The Guildhall
Ranked #147 of 222 Restaurants in Folkestone
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
kent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Homely with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is a gem, hidden at the back of town near the bayle its a traditional pub, we went in december the fire was on and it was very inviting, they opened the kitchen especially that night to cook for us and the food was delicious my mam had the pan fried haddock, and I had the steak all cooked to prefection, lovely and fresh and hugh portions - proper comfort food

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank louisehooley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Early Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Need a place to share an early Christmas dinner with family and friends, and this was the PERFECT place to eat and celebrate. Fabulous food, great ale and the perfect Christmas atmosphere to top it off. Will be back to try to try it out for New Years Celebrations for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Mandy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely pub at the top of an invigorating walk up the old high street with a very welcoming atmostphere and, most imortantly, excellent food. As with other reviewers, we had freshly puchased cod beautifully pan fried and served with excellent chips. Very friendly and unpretentious pub and an excellent way to spend a wet Monday lunchtime in December. Highly recommended and we intend to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KATHY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very traditional and unpretentious pub, but menu is good, and in particular the fish dishes are excellent. Fish is bought fresh daily from Folkestone’s fishmarket (a friend of mine has spotted the owner there many times). I had the plaice, pan-fried and served with a hearty portion of excellently cooked chips, and nicely-cooked vegetables; my friend had the cod, which was also excellent. Service excellent, and owner very friendly and helpful. Excellent quality and value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious fish, cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went to the Guildhall for the first time earlier this week and can thoroughly recommend it. Friendly and welcoming and with good beer - and the pan-fried cod was absolutely excellent. We will definitely look forward to the next visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guildhall also viewed

 

Been to The Guildhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing