We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch.”

Rocksalt Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocksalt Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 248 Restaurants in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a lunch at Rocksalt yesterday.Table wasn't quite ready but shown upstairs to bar for a drink first. Waited about 15 mins then shown to table .Lovely views over harbour. Chose the lamb,sirloin and fish stew. All were very good, as was the chocolate dessert and cheese. Unfortunately the mandarin and mascarpone trifle was disappointingly bland. No flavour at all from the mandarins and the mascaropone was dull-have something else instead.Bill around £140 for 3.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank clarewilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at Rocksalt, we are so glad you enjoyed your food apart from the Mandarin trifle I will pass your comments on to the chef

We hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Sarah Wentz, Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,882 - 1,886 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I cannot eat dairy, we went for brunch, nothing on menu that i could eat, asked waiter if i could have a sausage sandwich on dry bread, no soya butter option , The chef refused to do it, so i had dry toast and pinched a sausage from my friends plate !! anda black Coffee, no soya Milk ! this is a wonderful restaurant, But please accomadate for all.. I am very sorry about my problem and i don't like it, but i don't want to be made to feel any worse..The waiting staff were very good and I feel very sorry for them ,as they are the front man for chef's decision.. who would not speak with me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Perfect, perfect birthday lunch. First time customers of Rocksalt, Folkestone. Did not disappoint. Fabulous waiter service, beautiful setting and excellent set menu choice.
Could not have asked for more. The food was simply wonderful!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dlbKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank for taking your time to comment on your experience at Rocksalt.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food and service and we look forward to seeing you again for future birthday celebrations.

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz, Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Monday evening, a few customers dressed up as they were on their way to some sort of opera house. The bar upstairs and the restaurant downstairs are gorgeous. The waiters were young and very friendly; shame they did know much about what the dishes in the menu were about. The place is all show but don't expect the waiters to look after your empty glasses, it is not part of their service. My starter was "ceasar salad," unfortunately the plate contained many whole lettuces' hearts which could not be coated with the sparse sauce - just an unfortunate idea. For the dessert, I had a caramelized pear tart - one of the trickiest dish to be produce anywhere - and they failed it. Nice crispy base covered with a sickly, sweet, and runny caramel sauce on the top. The high note of the evening was the main dish: turbot with crispy chicken. It sounded an odd combination; but it was one of the most delicious dish I have ever tried. It is worth paying a visit, but it is very difficult to leave the place without the feeling that you have been tricked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant we appreciate all comments.
We are disappointed that some elements of your meal and service were not up to standard, every part of your experience should be of the highest quality .

We would love for you to visit us again in the future If you would like to give me a call on 01303 212070 to discuss this further then please don’t hesitate.

Kind Regards

Sarah Wentz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is getting to be one of my favourite restaurants in the UK. The interior design is intelligent and the view is perfect day or night (the harbour lights a dusk are quite magical). The menu too is intelligent and creative and mindful of the region - the terroir (local suppliers etc). The little details make it work so well. Try the pre starter dips. I've eaten Caesar salads all around the world, but Rocksalt gets the gold. Main courses are a well thought through balance of surf and turf. Puddings never fail. They're between chefs at the moment (though whoever was at the helm yesterday was doing a spectacular job). Even greater things will happen in a month or so.. according the the word on the grapevine. Talking of which.. more half bottles on the list would be welcome. Service exemplary. Faultless.

2  Thank Finbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking them time to comment on your experience at Rocksalt, we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience and that we are one of your favourite restaurants.

I will pass your compliments on to our Head Chef.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Kind regards
Sarah Wentz, Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocksalt Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocksalt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing