We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper fish and chips”

Papas Fish and Chips Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 226 Restaurants in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Proper fish and chips”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The best skate I have had for a long time. Could have done with some peas or some sort of slad thrown in.Nevertheless, it was made up with lots of chunky chips and a warm and attentive waitress. A short walk from our hotel, so very convenient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    109
    29
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have visited Papas on a number of occasions and cannot recommend it highly enough. The fish is perfectly cooked and, although you might have a slight wait, you always know it is cooked fresh. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Service not the best but you get whats on the tin at this place tasty fish and nice chunky chips and a freindly smile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungryman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Having had poor experiences of this place since it opened an offshoot on Canterbury Road I returned hoping to find things improved both in food and service. Was promptly greetied and order taken. Some 25 minuites later I was still waiting for food even though diners who had ordered after me were being served their meal. Cannot comment on the food as I left before it arrived. Willo definitely NOT be going again - a pity as it was the best place in the town centre for fish and chips and ince had excellent service. All the more a shame as I live within five minutes of the place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in town ”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I'm shocked. The food isn't tasteless at all, what it is at Papas is proper food, not sugary, fatty and greasy traditional fish shop which is why I think these people found it 'tasteless'. When I visited the food was great, not too expensive and the service was good

Helpful?
Thank lewisburnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas Fish and Chips Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Papas Fish and Chips Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing