We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We like to visit different places for a long weekend and always look to stay in an hotel which is good value for money without being too basic. We were instantly welcomed to the hotel - friendly, attentive staff who checked us in quickly and efficiently which is always a good start. Really helpful about the local attractions and when we asked a question they couldn't answer, the lovely receptionist went out of her way to help find the answer. Very clean, fresh room, lovely view, soft towels, which all sounds a bit anal but it was all just very comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast was hot, freshly cooked, very good coffee and excellent service. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy-Halldane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and i look forward to welcoming you again at the burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    357
    133
    46
    15
See reviews for
153
510
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in a standard room at the Burlington. The room was on the 3rd floor and was not one of the refurbished rooms but was very nice and exceptionally clean. Infact everywhere was really clean and tidy.The staff were very nice with a special mention for Ashley who was very helpful (even though he sent us on a walk that nearly killed us!)
We stayed on a B & B basis, the breakfast was lovely with a good range of items for the cooked breakfast and all cooked beautifully. (One minor point is that one of the female waiting staff at breakfast could try cracking a smile occassionally and this would only enhance a nice morning)
Would definately stay again if we are ever in that area again and hope they maintain the good standards they have achieved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay at the Burlington. As you probably noticed, the hotel is being refurbished with more rooms renovated in the near future. All our staff works hard to ensure your comfort and I thank you for your constructive criticism regarding the lack of smile of one of our young trainee waitress. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed on our wedding night 30th June. Room was lovely. However we were woken early by workmen in the room next door which had been converted to a workroom. Had to step over all their stuff to come down to breakfast.
Breakfast pretty poor for the price. This is supposed to be a quality hotel and had much better in many a B&B. Very little choice and not told to make our own toast before hot food came.
Wouldn't have put this review on had they bothered to reply to my email. I was even promised an urgent reply after I tweeted them. This company clearly doesn't want any repeat business. I've never put on a bad review before and we stay away a lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassandra116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review.
I would like to sincerely apologise for the delay responding to you as I was on annual leave. There has been a mix up with the tweet you sent as the original email you mention did not come through to us for some reason. Please be assured that it is not our intention to ignore our guests and all reviews or mails are answered. I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience on this occasion and I would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you have raised so it can be resolved to your satisfaction and I kindly ask you to contact me directly to: manager@theburlingtonhotel.com.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed for a night before and after going on a Saga tour. We found that the staff were very helpful,particularly on reception. Our rooms were very good., especially the refurbished superior room we had on our return. The food in the hotel was excellent especially the dinner menu . We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryan lusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had a great time at the Burlington,loved the place and the location The staff were charming and could not do enough for you specially the big fellow behind the bar.The standard room we stayed in was very nice and had every thing you needed.Thanks very much for a nice break will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 321ROBERTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your review and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stumbling upon this hotel on the web while staying in London was sheer luck! The room is spaceous for a family of four, each one his or her own bed. Clean and equipped, fantastic view and a charming garden. We desided to stay another night and delayed our journey west towards Brighton. Free wifi, receptionist ready for service 24/7, breakfast was best so far in a week and the proximity to the beach, the city centre and fairley good restaurants are valuable for us.

Be sure to see the artworks displayed along the promenade, making this little town really special for both adults and children alike. So too, the coastal activity park along the Lower Sandgate road.

Room Tip: Room 119 is perfect for a family of four (boys 11 and 13).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbakler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for spending the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us and enjoyed Folkestone. There are many things to do and see around the town for all ages and tastes. Folkestone is a lovely destination and the Burlington location is ideal to discover the Leas, the coastal park & beach or the creative Quater. I hope to see you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for one night, and the hotel was charming. We were very well looked after, and would definately stay there again. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was lovely and spacious, and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 379summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your kind review and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
14.6 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing