We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food. Friendly service.”
Review of Don Giovanni

Don Giovanni
Ranked #35 of 226 Restaurants in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Friendly service.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had been to this Italian before and been highly disappointed but this Monday early dinner was lovely, I wonder due to the day and time that we had been lucky to have full attention.

The mushrooms were nice although nothing to go mad about, My partner had the Bruschetta which consisted of about 4 pieces of toasted bread, a lot for a starter.

He had Cannelloni which tasted lovely and the icing on the cake for me was the Filet Steak with Red wine sauce, now although the sauce was very thick with a strange white tinge, it was rich and tasty. The filet itself was cooked to perfection for me (pretty much raw) and was huge, I think I got a lot for my money in way of size.

I will be back again someday.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    52
    16
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Worst Italian I have ever been to.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

You go to an Italian restaurant for great Italian food. The mushroom dish that came did not match the description in any way and the mushrooms were chewy (the microwave pings were probably the indicator that I should have run away).

The calzone pizza was OK but the edges were doughy, the filling had the feeling it was undercooked and the tomato sauce on top had been thrown on to leave splodges all over the plate.

To end I had a double espresso which was served in a normal tea cup.

Advice to this restaurant; Reduce your menu so that you do less dishes very well and focus more on customers rather than family visiting (for most of my meal I was one if 5 customers and there were as many staff and family present).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Good Italian Food.”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Took the family to this restaurant for birthday celebration meal. Very friendly service and we were not rushed in any way so had a very relaxing evening. There was plenty of choice on the menu that included pizzas and the food was good. Will certainly return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Ignore exterior impressions”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great place to eat lunchtime or evenings for lovely Italian hospitality, marvellous with kids who benefit with huge portions! The little extras make it a worthwhile experience complemented by an excellent and varied menu. Our mains were veal,steak and lamb all cooked to perfection with an enormous pizza for the child and nothing was too much trouble.
The service is laid back and the lunchtime opening hours went by the board when a party of six arrived to eat after the 14.00 closing time. Overall a very pleasant restaurant/pizzeria representing good value for money with generous portions.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Good Italian Restaurant, friendly family run”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Visited several times for family birthdays and with Korean exchange student. Family run restaurant, always very welcoming. Prepared to make changes to dishes/menu and will suggest such changes, eg Korean exchange student with us wanted spicier food, so owner himself suggested spicing up the Amatriciana sauce especially for him.

Food always of good quality and tasty. Price? Well like many Italian restuarants this is not the place for cheap food, but you do get what you pay for.

Always happy to go back and will do so in the future.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Giovanni also viewed

 
Folkestone, Kent
Folkestone, Kent
 
Folkestone, Kent
Folkestone, Kent
 

Been to Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing