We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed October 29, 2013

excellent value for money. The staff and quality of hotel during my visit in October 2013 met with my expectations form my previous visit in July 2013. Ideal for my business purpose and have recommnded this hotel to some of my business associates I will be using this hotel again shortly

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the friendly welcome at reception on arrival , to the polite cheerful night porters farewell on our early morning departure. This hotel stay was an absolute delight. We first stayed here in the 70s and thought it was very posh! Now, it is old fashioned with fantastic reception staff and lovely bedrooms which are homely and comfortable. A great place to stay if you are travelling on the shuttle to France. Next time we visit, we will hopefully eat there too.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room, hopefully you will get one overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Do you like your hotels modern, with all "modcons" and the latest gadgetry?
Do you like waking up and thinking, "Which hotel am I in?" because it's yet another identikit hotel room that could be anywhere in the world and any one of a dozen chains??
Then stay away, this hotel is not for you!!!

However, if, like me, you love the unusual, the quirky, the unique hotel that simply OOZES character, then come and be welcomed by a hotel with all of the above!

Once again one of our regular work stays, I have found the staff are not just polite and attentive, but after a couple of stays, will welcome you like an old friend.

Taking up a large chunk of an early Victorian (Or possibly earlier) terrace it has developed by gradually taking over and incorporating the next door properties, it is a fascinating maze of stairs and corridors, all maintained to an excellent degree with large, clean, airy and comfortable rooms.

The location is extremely convenient. less than 15min from the station, or a short walk from the town centre and, via the zig-zag path, within minutes from the seafront with it's shingle beach.

Then either a swim in the sheltered cove or a pleasant walk to the Fishmarket and harbour area, or, if you wish, in the other direction towards Sandgate.

Food is good and with the attention Maj, the matre d, gives to the smallest detail, very well served. also, with his very dry wit, Maj is, perhaps, the mainstay of the small, dedicated staff, most of whom have been there for several years.
It is to the credit of the hotel that they can retain the loyalty of such excellent staff.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the end of the hotel on the higher floors have a supurb view over the sea towards Fran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob of B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is fine. A bit of a rabbit warren and the lift was tiny but the room was a good size, the wifi effective and the bathroom clean. We didn't have breakfast but there are other places to eat. It is right on the Leas with excellent access to beautifully restored victorian Folkestone and the beach so that was a bonus. There was a big party so only limited parking but plenty available the next day so we just chose the wrong night! Nice and easy for the Tunnel the next day. Staff courteous and dogs welcome.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Clifton Hotel simply is not your typical Best Western. Glad we didn't let it being a Best Western hotel stop us... it is enchanting. Built in 1864 it abounds with charm and tradition. The staff is friendly and re-invigorates the sense of hospitality in the hotel industry. Although the hotel has WiFi - they remain very much in the analog world... tradition abounds in the quality of service.

It was like stepping back in time when we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. Everything was fresh and tasty. The meal was great but was almost overshadowed by the presentation... this is old-school hospitality at its finest. My only regret is not booking a longer stay.

Room Tip: The lifts might take a while so do some cardio before you book your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Good_As_Gone_4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was class, we did stay in the most expensive room as I wanted to treat my wonderful girlfriend. Staff were all very polite and helpful, room was clean, spacious, the food was very nice, matre de was a cross between cockney barrow boy and Jeeves rolled into one, if his jokes were half as funny as him laughing at them he'd be ok, will go back without a doubt. Can't understand why there are negative comments !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams7travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed just for one night on our way to France via the Channel Tunnel, that is only 10 minutes away.
It is a traditional Victorian hotel built in the 1860’s. The décor is still of the period and the communal areas and restaurant pleasantly reflected the Victorian period of financially well to do people that you would expect to see in a costume drama. We had a room on the third floor with a magnificent sea view which would have been much better if it had not raining.
The evening meal was better than most restaurants and a traditional English breakfast to set you up for the Day. The restaurant manager is amusing and charming a real professional and his staff were all trained to carry out silver service. A definite place to stay for couples mid-thirties to the late nineties, Beware of the ghost on the staircase. Hotel EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, sea view and £1.00 a day parking permit outside the hotel. Beware of the gho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidsmudgersmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,751 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
312 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Clifton Hotel

Address: | The Leas, Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: $46 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Folkestone
Folkestone Best Western
Best Western Clifton Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing