We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean ecellent value B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chandos Premier Guest House
Ranked #17 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Met by propietor asking if I wished to have breakfast and the time (so freshly cooked)
Room roomy, clean and comfortable bed.
Breakfast hot full english freshly made.
Excellent value would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oggy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just got back from our second stay at Chandos. We travelled as a family for a weekend with friends and used the family room. Despite having a 13 year old son to satisfy, the bunk beds were more than suitable and accomodated him easily. The room was clean and tidy and had been redecorated since our last stay a year ago. The four of us had plenty of room to get washed and changed in without tripping over one another. Facilities are as good as any other B&B I have stayed in, tea and coffee tray with a full size kettle, TV with DVD, plenty of towels, plug sockets for phone charges etc.! We had a very friendly greeting from Don who made sure we had everything we needed and that we felt able to ask if there was anything missing. We "booked" the cooked breakfast and really can't complain about it. Everything was cooked fresh, was hot and set us up nicely for the day.

The parking arrangements didn't cause any problem to us as we stayed at the weekend. On our previous stay we found parking on the road outside without any issues.

It is very conveniently located for a walk into town or to the beach.

As my title suggests, we would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room on the first floor - one double and bunk beds - which is at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaC629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We found that after initial contact and booking rooms communication was very difficult (not answering E Mails).
We received an E mail with only one confirmation for two rooms we booked and attempted to contact the Chandos and telephoned with a luke warm reception and given times to ring when we needed to know our friends had a room for the night.
Our room2 was clean and functional but not some ware you would want to stay more than one night 4 beds and furniture my Wife wanted to switch on the TV which involved climbing onto the bunk beds and plugging in the TV which was perched on top a wardrobe!
The Breakfast was good small portions and is Not part of the £50 we paid for the room despite the advertising of Bed and Breakfast (its not very clear)?

We will look harder on our next visit to Folkston.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small Check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and must say i don't have a bad thing to say. It is located just a few mins walk from Folkestone Central train station and pretty much the same distance to the town. The manager is friendly, and whilst the rooms were fairly small they were extremely clean and reasonably equipped. The breakfast was pretty good and i would definitely stay again if in the area. Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Bear in mind the 1600 check-in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at this B&B at short notice with my wife a couple of days ago after seeing the tripadvisor reviews and we found it to be good value for money. Manager is friendly and the place is very clean and tidy. Breakfast was good value with a good selection of food on offer. The only issue we had with our stay is that our room was on the top floor and the water pressure was very low, which meant showering wasnt so easy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayfreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I used this hotel along with my girlfriend and parents as a stop-over on the way to France, and it was perfect for this purpose.

Rooms were clean and tidy, quite spacious and suited us perfectly for an overnight stay.

The guesthouse is literally like a 2 minute walk from the centre of Folkestone, so it was easy to find somewhere to eat and there was a decent choice of pubs.

Breakfast in the morning was brilliant and certainly got us ready for the travelling ahead.

Met both the owners and they were more than helpful and very polite and seemed interested in you as guests.

My only concern before arriving was the lack of the guesthouses' own private parking, but on arrival we found the guesthouse has use of a private carpark around the back, which was more than secure which meant we could keep most of our luggage in the car and not worry. There is also ample free parking for an hour around the hotel, between 9 and 6, which is unlimited at weekends.

This guesthouse was perfect to use for an overnight stop-over and I am sure would be perfectly suitable for a short stay.

I'd reccomend this guesthouse and will be using it again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexmacdonald4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed in Chandos House for one night en route to France. The cost was reasonable and the location convenient to ferry port. Though not en-suite, the single room was comfortable and clean. The largeand well-equipped shared bathroom was close by. Breakfast was good and the proprietor friendly and helpful. I would use this place again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandos Premier Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandos Premier Guest House

Address: 77 Cheriton Road, Folkestone CT20 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: $62 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chandos Premier Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chandos Premier Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandos Premier Guest House Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing