We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pitstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

First time staying here. It's a good base for exploring the surrounding area. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room spacious and comfortable. Family friendly, my daughter loved it here. Breakfast had much more choice than I would have imagined and the whole family enjoyed a huge breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere. Would come back again :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SueEmilyBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    549
    259
    68
    39
See reviews for
339
557
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice place to stay for an early Eurotunnel crossing. Paid £63 for b&b - fine at this price, but now seem to be asking £90, which is overpriced. Restaurant meal OK. Easy to find. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daves1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Daves1946,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Channel Tunnel. Our pricing at the hotel changes on a daily basis due to demand in the local area.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Usual good service from this HIE, comfortable, clean and friendly staff. Breakfast area was a little cramped for room but plentiful supply of food. Would recommend for overnight before heading to France.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Aussiesabroad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Channel Tunnel, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here in February before crossing to France,
It's perfectly located for a tunnel crossing,very close to the tunnel,the rooms were clean,tidy and well laid out.
The whole family had a good nights sleep and we're well rested for a very early crossing.
The complimentary breakfast was a good touch in the morning to take out .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed one night only for convenience to the ferry terminal for France. The rooms were clean, comfortable and of a high standard. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is, indeed, only 5 minutes away from the ferry terminal. The bar was quite busy in the evening, so plenty of people about. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening because we arrived quite late, but we had breakfast, which was adequate and to usual Holiday Inn Express standards. All-in-all, a good night's stay as a stop off for the continent. Plenty of parking availalbe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2509Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear 2509Jill,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Ferry, thank you for your positive feedback about the team and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding locally, and thought that a holiday inn hotel would be a safe bet!

How wrong could we have been.....

The room walls were filthy and marked, the paint was falling off the window sills, the bathroom was dirty and smelt of urine, the sink was so blocked (even when we entirely removed the plug) while brushing your teeth over the sink the basin just filled itself up with a toothpaste saliva water, the heating was stuck on 25 degrees and when we asked if they could help us turn it down we were told it had to be controlled centrally and not individually, when we returned in the evening from the wedding we asked if it had been done and were told the same thing (the room was still very hot), we gave up and opened the windows as far as possible, which was all of 2 inches! The bed was very creaky and uncomfortable, the carpet was stained and again filthy! There were no plug sockets near the bed to charge your phone or near a mirror to allow you to have access to a mirror while drying your hair, and no iron!

Overall it was a very restless night of not much sleep and lots of noise as we had the windows open and were above the entrance to the hotel. Needless to say we will not be staying here again! However, when we did mention this to the receptionist she didn't seem at all phased when we told her how bad the stay had been and offered us a refund on the hotel rate for the evening (even though we hadn't checked out at this point so they shouldn't have even debited our account, which they then had to refund!)

My partner and I have both stayed in a lot of different hotels through work but this was definitely an experience- NOT to be relived!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear AliceHalls,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Folkestone, Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Your feedback is very important to us to help us establish what is important to our guests and helps us improve our service. I am unable to locate your reservation from your trip advisor name, therefore could you contact me on gm@hiexfolkestone.com with your reservation details; I will then be able to investigate your experience in full.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have stayed here several times since it opened around three years ago and it has continued to improve throughout that time. The have now improved the menu and extended the food service hours. It is not glamorous but it is clean, comfortable and an ideal place to stay prior to a morning crossing via Eurotunnel. It is less than ten minutes drive from the check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear ZoeP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay again at the hotel. Thank you for such positive feedback regarding the team, hotel and our new dinner menu.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
988 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing