We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre France stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked here as we were travelling to France by eurotunnel the following morning
Bog standard HI - very clean. Nice welcome, easy check in
Spotlessly clean room, very comfortable bed and choice of pillows, quiet overnight.
Down side - hardly any water pressure in the shower and a distinct lack of lighting in the bedroom. Desperately needs some overhead lighting

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

With an early Chunnel booked, we looked for somewhere to camp the night befre & the HIE fits the bill perfectly. It's just a short 5 min drive to the Chunnel entrance. We arrived to find plenty of parking spots available. Checked in very quickly. Got a nice room with the sofa bed already made up (which was good & bad....we were travelling with our son, but he's only 5 months old so didn't need the bed - but the lady on reception came within 10 mins to put it away). The helpful, friendly staff also took our freezer pack & froze it over night so we could keep our sons food cool on our trip to France. We didn't eat at the hotel...well we did order Dominos to be delivered (& we were even offered cutlery if we needed it, which I thought was a very nice touch), so I can't comment on the food.
I would always use this hotel for our overnight stay before an early train. :o)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I often stay here , the night before we travel through the chunnel, as it's so
handy for the tunnel, which is only a 5-10 min drive away. There is also a large Tesco just down the road, for the last minute things and petrol. The hotel is typical Holiday Inn, modern, large rooms, clean, nice comfy beds. Staff are friendly, and helpful, although the guy serving on reception, seemed to be in a hurry,and book us in, as he was also serving behind the bar. We have not tried the food in the evening, so I cannot comment, but the breakfast is very basic, with
the only hot food being scrambled eggs, sausages & beans. But it is adequate and as it is included in with the room price it is good value. I would definitely stay here again, after enjoying a nice
quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saintsboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Graet location and rooms recently refurbished, we liked the bathroom layout with show cubicle instead of bath. Quiet location and adequate breakfast for a quick get up and go for an early euro tunnel crossing. Our advance booking price was half the walk in and book rate so represented good value. I'd certainly use it again as part of a trip to the continent.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Louthgrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We use this hotel when we have an early start on the Eurotunnel but is also handy for the Ferries too as only a few minutes down the M20. The hotel is up to the usual standards of the Holiday Inn Express Brand, they serve food in the evenings as there isn't much else nearby. The beds are comfy and the rooms are clean and its reasonably priced, what more do you need for a quick stop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here in the past few months and was great again!

I arrived late and left early the following day for the channel tunnel, it really is the perfect location for it.

This time I had a room at the far end away from the lift which was much quieter than my last stay.

Great location, great hotel, highly recommended for a quick, easy stop over.

Room Tip: As far away from the lift as possible, as it pings all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callumrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times. Its conveniently located for the ferry and channel tunnel - we have done both from this hotel. The accepts dogs too. Clean, modern rooms with tea & coffee provided. Breakfast was good. Big free car park with entry/exit barriers but does get crowded. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Modern clean rooms. Handy for ferry or channel tunnel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green-Fingers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,052 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
468 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
312 reviews
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing