We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant

The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 568 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $94
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

First visit to the 3 Acres as part of a group of 14 for a birthday celebration.
Service was great from the start and the private dining room was special.
All food and drink excellent and we tasted most of the menu between all 14 of us.
Will visit again as a couple and in smaller groups.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank normski999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    212
    106
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Skegness
Level Contributor
186 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Been to the 3 acres several times, service is very good with happy staff who can't do enough for you,

Good selection of food on offer, always hot and cooked to your liking.

3 acres makes special occasions feel extra special

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sundown1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice pub but drinks were incredibily expensive only matched by lack of bar staff. We were part of a group of six which seemed to give problems with the breakfast in the morning with the food taking too long to arrive.
Accomodation in the Annex is moderate.
Food was excellent but don't expect large portions

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kastroud74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and i decided to have our Golden Wedding meal for all the family at the Three Acres. very glad we did the meal was exceptional we had plenty of choice from the menu everything that we had starters main and dessert was excellent. the service to say the restaurant was very busy was first class. The prices are on the high side but you only get quality food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Townman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“We have been away far too long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

A couple of friends and I were on our way to the Wortley Arms, unfortunately for them, it was closed . We sat in the car and pondered, someone said lets try the 3 Acres. I confess its bee a couple of years since I was last there and you get out of the habit of going. This is about to change, A warm welcome on arrival, the head waiter remembered me, we gathered at the bar, which is too small for the restaurant (it always was) we were shown, not rushed, to our table where we chose. Fresh bread and butter was brought and replaced with more. I had devilled kidneys followed by Mussels my pals both had the Porchetta. The Kidneys were fantastic, perfectly cooked and seasoned, the Mussels, unfortunately about 10% were still closed, maybe this should have been picked up by the chef but the flavour was very good, the french fries, perfect. My pals were drooling over the Porchetta cooked perfectly with Borlotti beans mash potatoes and spinach. We didn't sample the deserts, too full.
With the exception of the past couple of years I have bee going here for around 20years and it has never disappointed, I'm now asking myself why I kept away. This business maintains a standard others will never achieve.
For the couple of reviews who considerably marked this down, my view is these should be ignored, occasionally any restaurant produced a poor meal even now and again and speaking as an employer our staff do not always perform as we would like.After 20years and dozens of visits I would trust my judgement more than these oddballs. I looked at Mullberystar's other reviews and it seem he/she hasn't given a decent review to anybody.
On this 3 Acres keep up the good work, you deserver your good reviews. The staff by the way were excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing