We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no complaints - friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #10 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“no complaints - friendly staff”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

easy check in, nice friendly staff.. Rooms were comfortable enough and certainly is value for money. Breakfast very pleasant and friendly service. Only complaint would be the toilet seat wasn't fixed properly. Id be happy to stay again and really thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
36
68
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed two nights in this room. It had two faults and two shortcomings. The first fault was electrical. There is no bulb in the bedside lamp. The maid fitted one. It immediately blew. Plus it tripped a fuse. All the electrical fittings, except the overhead lights, were out. The maid knew what to do and disappeared to hit the trip.
There is a constant noise above the window - louder than a drip, it's a sort of bump. The housekeeper told me it would be fixed. It wasn't.
Immediately outside the room there is a vending machine. The motor kicks in and it can be heard in the room. People use obviously use it in the middle of the night and discuss the merits of Diet Coke, loudly. There is also a digital control unit nearby. Sometimes it squeals like a banshee. It can be heard upstairs. Other guests complained. Like mine, their complaints were not acted upon. The continental breakfast is only adequate.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the pub/restaurant section. Insist on one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeldawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

we have stayed twice recently as we had appointments nearby, the foxglove is in a pleasant situation and is well furnished, staff are friendly and helpful, then it all goes down hill.
on arrival we were told we had been allocated an upstairs room ,as my wife has mobility problems and we had pre-requested a ground floor room we were told by the manager that some people at central reservations were better than others! what he neglected to tell us was that the heating system was broken , so on a cold and wet December night we had no hot water or heating in our freezing cold room.
eventually driven by the cold down into the restaurant we pointed out the heating problems along with two broken bedside lights and a bathroom door that would not close to be told that we would be given a free drink before dinner!
of dinner itself the menu has pretentions to which the kitchens cannot deliver, nearly everything was very overcooked (don't ask for a rare steak) and when the bill came we were surprised to find our free drinks were on it.
needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We (and several other couples in our party) stayed at the foxglove as we were attending a friends wedding in the area. Every our couple in our party was able to check in early but they wouldn't allow us to, which I suppose is ok as they do advertise the actual check in time when booking so I let this slide. Once we were able to get into our room some of the fixtures and fitting were broken and when this was highlighted to the staff (out of a fear they would try and charge me for the damage) they didn't care, I'm also aware of a friend room that had the shower nearly fall off the wall then used. The main problem came the following day when we were checked out. At breakfast we had learnt that we had been charged more for our room than all others in our party and when my wife challenged the manager of the 'hotel' he started being really condescending to her calling her sweetheart etc and saying there was no mistake. We complained to the company about this over charge and they confirmed that we had been over charged by the 'hotel' and that a refund for the difference would be sent to us. It has take 2 weeks after this confirmation from the company they had overcharged to action the refund and they have refunded it to a different card to the one used to pay. I would not stay at the foxglove again and would recommend friend to also avoid it in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer111999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had Saturday lunch at the Foxglove yesterday and it was all excellent. The only sad thing was that we were both too full to order pudding! Both the waitress and the bar maid were wonderfully polite, welcoming, kind and friendly. We think the decor was very modern and luxurious and we felt very relaxed in the surroundings ( next to a lovely fire!).
We ordered from the set lunch menu and everything we ordered was hot and delicious and served efficiently and with a smile.
Thank you for our lovely dining experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Foxglove. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited The Foxglove on Friday 01/11/13 at about 2030.We were shown to a table straight away by a polite waiter who took an order for our drinks.( A pint and a lime &soda)
25 mins later a different waiter came to take our food order and we also ordered 2 glasses of wine to have we our meal. We asked if our original drinks order could be served as we had been waiting 35mins, the wine we had ordered for our meal was brought to the table.
We explained that we wanted our original drinks order . The wine was taken back to the bar and left on the top. 45 mins after we arrived we received our original drinks order and the wine again ! We asked for the wine to be taken away, 5 mins later it was brought to the table again. We asked for it to be taken away again and for a fresh glass of white wine to be poured when it was brought back with our meal as it was now warm.
The bread we had was ok!
Our meal was served - the waiter was very polite. The wine was brought back to the table and it was clear that they had just put both the red and white glasses in the fridge!
We both had burgers- I took the top off mine to remove some if the bacon the burger was chared black and burnt across the whole of the top with a thick charcoal rim around the whole burger. It was inedible.
I took it back to the bar , the waitress asked me what I wanted her to do about it. I asked her to take it back to the kitchen. The waiter came back to the table he said that the chef said " that is how we cook them here so if we do another one it will just be the same" The waiter said that it was burnt and asked if I wanted something else . I said not to bother as my husband had nearly finished ,The waiter apologised.
We left a few minutes later - they didn't charge us for my meal ( which I hadn't eaten or the wine )
Overall the service team were polite but very disorganised, the food was terrible and the chef cooked a very burnt meal and then sent a rude , arrogant message to a customer.

It's our local pub/ restaurant but we won't be going back .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This one is better than average and average is good,
Nice comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, really nice food , very well prepared and cooked to perfection , a real credit to the chef, Will always look for local innkeepers lodge as first choice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
6.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
273 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
264 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
706 reviews
19.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing