We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #7 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Barry
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here on the 3rd July on business and have no complaints. The room I was in had been fully refurbished within the last two weeks and was gleaming like a new pin. The bed was great and I enjoyed a good nights sleep. The food was top end of the range pub grub and well worth the price. Breakfast was cooked to order and good quality. All of the staff I had dealings were frieindly and seem keen to do their best for you. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebaldoneontheleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    57
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
37
70
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have dined here in the past and been disappointed. However some friends suggested we try it again, which we did. Helpful staff, clean surroundings - but oh the food. Dont know how the chef manages to serve-up such poor food. Definitely give this place a miss!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

On the plus side, this hotel and pub has nice enough rooms, free wifi, great staff and well kept beers. However the food was a little dissapointing. The "special" vintage pie, had undercooked pastry and was served with frozen chips, while the cheeseboard had cheese so cold, the flavour was missing and served with a rather meagre selection of crackers without even a dod of butter.

As with all such chains, innkeepers Lodges, Marstons Inns, etc food is frequently the weak link. However for a one night stay its more than adequate.

The staff were very welcoming though and all were approachable and friendly. Good beer too

Would i return? Yes

Room Tip: All rooms are in an annex and id imagine most are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed her 7th June for 2 nights. The room was absolutely fine, it was clean with ample space and at £54 a night including a breakfast, what is there to grumble about!! All the staff we encountered were pleasant and more than helpful, from the check in guy, to the bar man, the waitress, the cleaners and even the decorator who was updating some of the rooms!! We ate in the restaurant on the first night. It was tasty and served with a smile. We stayed and had a few drinks and enjoyed the experience. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were 4 adults and 2 children dining here on a busy Saturday. It was annoying to have to phone to book a table inatead of doing so online as with other restaurants in this Group.
The Service was rather slow, perhaps because we all ordered diffrent thigs form the menus.The Staff who served us were friendly, helpful, and very patient especialy with the children. (They sat at the table and did not run around as others did).
We enjoyed our meal and did not feel rushed to move on. We have dined at several other Inns in this group and the foxglove was definitely one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsmum43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our first experience was the manager ( we presume) saying in a loud voice yes you can have this table but we need it at eight ! We arrived shortly after six, its rare we take two hours to eat pub food ! And this is definitely pub food and not the best we have had, the James Martin Pie was fair, the burger could have done without the totally inedible piece of bacon placed on top and charging extra for fat chips is well bizarre . Also £3.50 extra for onion rings is expensive and you get to know about these extra charges at bill time , it's not a deal breaker but these silly extra charges are odd and don't make you leave, thinking that was a fair price for the meal, what next extra for a knife & fork ! Oh and just give us sauce and vinegar , having the waiter stood dishing it out like its saffron at fifty pounds a oz is again silly , it's not fine dining its a pub .

On the up side our waiter was excellent , friendly informed about the drinks and dare we say it human . Unlikely we will go again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We live locally and have visited here several times, for convenience more than anything else. Food prices are the equivalent of somewhere serving decent, good portions of fresh home cooked food food, but being a chain, the food here can never be described as fresh or home cooked. Today's meal ost £30 for 2 mains and 2 drinks. One meal had to be sent back as the rare steak was served char grilled beyond recognition. Consequently we both ate our meals separately. The other meal hound have been returned and I was only able to eat half. The only person who asked if we enjoyed our food was the bar man taking our money as we left. Have one home nd raided the cupboards for something else to eat. In addition, the carpet where we were seated at the Foxglove was beyond filthy. Admittedly it is a Sunday and they will have had a lot of families today but nevertheless it only takes 2 minutes to give it a sweep. Have given this place enough chances and will not be giving them any more of my money in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
733 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
460 reviews
3.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing