We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #6 of 19 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I thought we would try a meal at the Foxglove, The pub was quite busy, cosy tables and a pleasant atmosphere, The staff very friendly, good attentive service. Can't fault the staff,
We ordered fish pie and a chicken and ham pie, I was very disappointed with the very Small fish pie, lots of mash potatoes, shrimps and fish in a white sauce, the menu stated smoked haddock, salmon, Atlantic prawn and white fish in a dill sauce, my fish pie was minus the smoked haddock and salmon, I think they missed the dill out of the sauce. It was served with very tired looking salad leaves with 3 very small pieces of dried out raw carrot. My husbands meal wasn't any better, his pie was twice the size of mine, but once you cut into the puff pastry crust there was very little underneath, served with very poor oven chips and over cooked peas. Over priced and disappointing meal, we will not returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 703AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Firstly I apologise for not having a photo to share.

Bec and I visited on Easter Thursday (if there is such a thing) with her grand mother. The car park is very steep - I'm pleased we didn't go a week later or it'd have been a drive through lol. Almost as soon as we entered we were greeted by somebody who seemed surprised that we hadn't booked. I'm not sure if that was just because they had lots of reservations or because it is a reservations only place but either way she was nice enough to locate a table which wouldn't be needed for a while and allowed us to seat.

The interior is nicely decorated although dark and quite hot. They've done their best to lighten the place up with internal windows to spread the light but really their location at the bottom of the hill and the way the building faces hamper their efforts. As for the heat there is little that can be done. The coal fires are a lovely feature but you'd have a hard time turning the temperature down lol.

On browsing the menu I noticed very few vegetarian options but the ones that were there sounded nice. I chose the three cheese and potato pie with Mediterranean roast vegetables, and Bec and her grand mother both chose the gammon.

I am re-writing this section of the review having upgraded my rating from 4 to 5. I originally gave 4 because of the lack of vegetarian options but whilst writing I was thinking about how nice my meal was and decided to delete and replace with this. Although vegetarian options are few, the one I chose really did make up for that. It was lovely. The pastry was nice and really thick - just the way I like it. The mix of cheeses and potato was spot on, and the roast veg was lovely too, including roast courgette (I think) which I'd never tried before but was really nice. The pie must have been home made because I doubt you would ever find anything of that quality in a box from the supermarket. I could have easily eaten every bit of that again.

Bec's and her grand mothers meals looked nice too and apparently they were. The gammon looked very moist and well cooked (well as in with talent, not over done). Even their grilled pineapple which Bec didn't eat (I did though lol) was perfectly done.

To follow Bec had a Belgian chocolate brownie and I CHOSE the rhubarb creme brulee but received apple crumble. It was a little loud with a family who were just been seated so her mis-hearing me is understandable and I like apple crumble too so I didn't say anything.

This is where we have one point to make - speed of service. We were waiting a while for our main course and the desert which anywhere else is usually quite fast, we waited about 25 minutes for. When we did receive our deserts it was clear they had been standing for a while because the ice cream on Becs brownie had melted - not great because she doesn't like ice cream (I usually eat it). I would have marked them down for this had it not been for the fact that the problems with service has obviously been noticed by the management and efforts have been made to rectify that problem in the form of a las who was in training. Plus it was busy anyway with a funeral or wedding or something (same thing if you ask me), not to mention the day before Easter. So I didn't mark them down for this simply because they were doing something about it.

When we got the bill we were pleasantly surprised. Although the prices are not what you would call cheap, they are very reasonable for the quality of food received.

This review is from the first visit to the pub and I can't wait to return although I'll probably have the same thing, but hopefully with the creme brulee to follow lol.

Thanks Foxglove for a lovely, reasonably priced meal.

Room Tip: Even if you are not a vegie try the three cheese and potato pie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavesPetServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here sea bass very substandard dry and chewy very overpriced for the quality. On the plus the staff are lovely and the pub is very welcoming. Food needs improving. Would go again just wouldn't order fish.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Demelza1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We found this lovely hotel/inn on the Internet and decided to visit as a family of two adults and two children and we were not disappointed. Very clean rooms with flat screen tv (we took a DVD player for the kids at night that plugged in) and very spacious too, particularly the family rooms which consisted of a large double bed and a good sized fold out bed. Decent size bathroom with big shower and option to request complimentary shower products if you forget them. Great location for travel around Yorkshire. Continental breakfast is okay, but get early as milk gets warm! Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sw02jco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This 'budget' inn was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Our whole experience was excellent. The Inn, the accommodation, the staff and the restaurant were without fault. We stayed for two nights on a deal that included English Breakfast, for just under £44 per room per night. We dined in the restaurant on one night and it was fabulous. We do travel quite a bit and having read some of the other comments, almost wonder if we are talking about the same place. We thought the food was both excellent quality and very good value. We would now like to visit another Innkeeper's Lodge to see if the same standard is across the board

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrondaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went for dinner last night, overpriced, extremely slow service, decidingly average overpriced food, the gravey for my wife's lamb shank pie, came out at the same time as the bill, Avoid!

Worst £50 for dinner for two that I've had the misfortune to spend, might be worth taking into account if you were thinking of going here on Thursday for valentines, As the Kitchen and staff obviously can't cope with large numbers of covers!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had two rooms, and for the price, could not find fault except perhaps that my daughter found the first floor rooms a little dark as the windows are small - ours on the ground floor was fine.
Food - Friday night - waited over an hour after ordering. When it did arrive the portion was small and there were no accompaniments - never did find out what happened to the "slaw" which was supposed to be served with the tuna burgers - only a burger and chips arrived. Having worked in the trade a long time ago, I would have thought an apology would have been in order (most of us understand that kitchens have "bad" nights) but nothing was forthcoming. On the Saturday night we returned after a great meal in Huddersfield and had a nightcap (we were "told" where we could sit so as not to get mixed up with the diners? - by 10pm the place was hardly full). I had a look at the meals others were eating and, that evening, they did look less meagre and more appetising but it was a lot later in the evening. The "free" buffet breakfast was adequate. I would stay here again as the accommodation was excellent value (winter deal price) but I think I would go elsewhere to eat (my son-in-law was brought up locally so knows the area and kept wishing we had gone up to the "Woodman")

Room Tip: Look for the special offers on accommodation, ask for a ground floor room and eat elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
3.6 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
1 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#3 of 19 in Huddersfield
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Edge Accommodation
The Edge Accommodation
#5 of 19 in Huddersfield
42 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: $68 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing