We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #10 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a lovely stay staff are very helpful and friendly the rooms are clean bed very comfy Shower was really powerfull paid for the English breakfast was very nice. I would recommend to other people stay here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bromleyboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
36
68
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
285 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a family room which was clean and comfortable with plenty of space for the 3 of us and was an absolute bargain at £30/night including a decent continental breakfast buffet. The only minor comments are that it was easy to bang your head on the sloping roof in room 21 (if you were clumsy like us), the only window was high up and the whole lodge appeared to be launching into outerspace when the shower was on. It was perfectly fine for 2 nights though.

The pub serves good beer and the food is standard Vintage Inn fare although we didn't eat here this time. The pub is close to countryside (including the 330m high Emley Moor transmitting station which according the Wikipedia is the tallest free-standing structure in the UK) but also close to Huddersfield and within easy reach of the M62 and M1. We would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardodesantaalbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

An interesting traditional country pub with added accommodation for guests which is a purpose built two storey chalet. Rooms are a decent size as is the bathroom which has a large shower cubical. Although clean and reasonably sound proof the rooms are showing signs of age, but this is not really a problem. Security is good and access to the block is by an electronic key. There is a very large car park with security lighting. Staff were mainly helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant is typical pub food, not stunning but not bad either - just satisfactory. Very popular with the locals. Would we return? Yes we would, in fact we have stayed here a number of times as it is very handy for the moors and the town. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Book early. Be careful of low beams in the upper rooms, particularly when getting out of bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velsheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forget, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is one of the better Vintage Inns. I have only reviewed the restaurant rather then the accommodation.

The standard of service seems to have been maintained here whilst other nearby restaurants in the chain have slipped markedly.

The quality of the food is consistently good as with most Vintage Inn pubs, but the nice location and good service mark this one out and it does not feel like some where to re-fuel.

The local beers and choice is good and would be worth visiting even if it is just for a pint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire - England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Regular visitor but something wrong at present.
Closing for refurbishment 18th November and meal today very poor.
Ordered rib eye steak sandwich at 6.95 and got what I can only describe as 3 strands of fat!
Waiter suggested this was the norm but I have eaten here previously and can say definitely not the case.
Returned the food and ended up with pleasant bacon and chicken salad which was lovely but eaten after my friend had finished her meal!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rowleyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

doncaster
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Cannot fault the hotel and complimentary continental breakfast.... however the food and service leave a lot to be desired.

we were a table of 8 eating at a quiet time, the pub was less than half full. We waited nearly 40 minutes for starters and the same again for the maincourse.
2 the starters we ordered, the same mushroom dish were stone cold, the waitress was very apologetic, but we recieved the same plate of of food back, that had just been warmed up in the microwave. We ordered 5 steaks and none were not cooked as were requested, but given the time we waited, and they were hot, we never sent them back.
Considering the prices, which i would describe as slighty higher than average (£6-8 for a starter and the steaks were £14) we all thought the portion sizes were skimpy, i had about 5 'steak cut chips' and 2 tiny onion rings.

i would stay here again but would eat elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peakstone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Not sure what all the bad reviews have been about. We've just been for dinner and it's been a really good experience - staff were attentative and helpful, only one menu item was unavailable (and there was a replacement for that), the food was delivered in perfect time (in other words not too quickly and not too long a wait), was piping hot and had been freshly prepared and cooked. A reasonable wine list at reasonable prices. 3 evening meals (with extras), 2 bottles of wine, 3 beers, all excellent quality for £90. Top class, well done!

Room Tip: Looks like a value chain restaurant but provides a quality unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing