We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #7 of 21 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here several times and always experience a good standard of room accommodation. Customer service from restaurant staff is always friendly and helpful and there is plenty of choice on the menu at reasonable prices.
The free continental style breakfast provided has plenty of choice of cereals, toast, and pastries, etc available.
Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 174 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

On Tuesday 29th November we arrived at the Foxglove after leaving the funeral of my father.My
brother had spoken and met up with Terry the Landlord to discuss the menus etc a couple of days
prior.On arrival the reception was warm and friendly,all the staff very attentive and organised and the
atmosphere can only be described as wonderful!

The food far exceeded our expectations and was presented beautifully - hot and cold delicacies too
many to mention but of superb quality.We were also given the go ahead to help ourselves to tea and
coffee which was a nice gesture especially to the older end.

The Foxglove we feel is the finest pub in the area in terms of character and charm and we sincererly
hope it goes from strength to strengh.

I strongly recommend if anyone out there is looking for a funeral venue to go and have a chat with
Terry and his Team - they wont disappoint you!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel has four family rooms three of them are hot, noisy and not in the main building we was in one of them in the day they were okay at night we could not sleep becuse of the noise & hotness but we enjoyed it we would go back but not in room 22,23 or 24

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent August Bank Holiday at this Inn staying in the adjacent Innkeepers Lodge. We had been great fans of Innkeepers Lodge until they offloaded about a third of them to Travelodge and put up the prices at the ones they kept. However, we found a summer offer of £25 per room per night so thought we would stay at The Foxglove Inn near Huddersfield. I cannot think of a negative thing to say about our stay. The Inn itself is very pretty from outside and cosy inside, with lots of nooks and crannies. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, as we have always found with Innkeepers Lodge. We ate in the Inn on two evenings and we were very happy with the choice and value for money. The 'Friday Fish Night' menu was especially good. My husband was also pleased with the real ales on offer - some at £2 a pint - as well as draught Peroni. Kirkburton is a very nice village and there are also 3 decent pubs within walking distance, all serving real ale. Our room in the lodge was newly decorated, spacious and clean, the shower was excellent. We would not hesitate in making a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We only stayed three nights but would stay again if we are in the area. The rooms are nothing to shout about but they are being redecorated. The beds are comfortable and clean and there was ample tea/coffee, milk etc. The staff are very friendly and helpfull especially the lady who does the morning breakfast oversee. Despite the fact she was finished her shift and on her way out, she made coffee for my family when they arrived after a 5 hour drive and served it out in the garden.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dot049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here after going out for a meal elsewhere with my husband. We paid £45 including continental breakfast. The rooms are located in a separate building from the Foxglove Pub. The pub is huge but really dark and it smells a bit grubby.

The pub was closing when we arrived back but glasses and food plates were left out in the bear garden over night. The gardens around the rooms were unkempt ans scruffy. While we were there some of the rooms were being redecorated. I am sure that our room had not been done as there were scuff/marks on the wall and tea splashed on the skirting boards! The rooms are tired but I suppose they will be OK following a lick of paint. The rooms upstairs are set out in the roof space with a tiny attic like window which means the rooms are dark.

Tea and coffee facilities are provided and if you run out you are free to go to a cupboard in the corridor for more. The bed was comfy and I slept well. The breakfast was just a basic continental breakfast.

I can't really complain as this was a cheap room which was booked just for somewhere to put my head. I wouldn't want a holiday here. A word or warning; there is some sort of lorry/fork lift truck distribution place directly behind the rooms and they start work early!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel had pleasant grounds and a decent bar and restaurant. Staff were pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaddyMc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
3.6 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
1 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#1 of 21 in Huddersfield
413 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
608 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing