We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and helpful B&B”

Elm Crest Guest Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elm Crest Guest Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Very nice and helpful B&B”
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I stayed here last Friday night. I was in a single room and it was tiny! However it was warm, clean and comfortable. I was dismayed to find breakfast does not start until 8.30am - the time I had to leave. However Ginette got up early and made me scrambled eggs on toast at 8am. Lovely jams, yougurt and a fresh fruit salad completed the line up. I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midasfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

If you want bland anonymity at a high price, this is not the place for you.

If you want great value for money for a single room, helpful service that goes way beyond normal, exceptional clean and warm room, loads of hot water and nice towel and an excellent breakfast with home made jams then this is the place for you.

The close to town centre location and great car park are a bonus.

I would highly recommend this place and can understand why everyone else has scored it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Although our visit to Huddersfield was not in the best of circumstances Ginette & Martin made it a very pleasant and warm stay. We wish all Guest Houses were this inviting and hospitable. It was one of the cleanest and well maintained B&B's that we have stayed in for a long time, the host's Ginette & Martin were always on hand and could not do enough for you, Where else would you get offered tea and home made cake's the second you walked in the door, and that's before you have even booked in. We found the Elm Crest by default due to the hotel we were looking at being fully booked, but were so glad we did. If you are looking for a Guest House that gives you a true British welcome and hospitality you cannot go wrong by choosing the Elm Crest, we shall definatley be booking again as and when we need to be in or around the Huddersfield area again

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank builderjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Having just returned from this hotel i thought i must let others know how good it is!
The owner was a first class example of how to treat a guest, all the fine touches of coffe and home made baking on arrival (and free of charge), chocolates in the room, and really helpfull advice on the area.The hotel itself is beautifully kept and the rooms large.The breakfast was huge and delishous.
5 stars from me!

  • Liked — The high standard of service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tryasido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

(How does this lovely place have an overall rating of 4 with two reviews that both give it a 5?) Anyway, of the MANY B&B's we've visited in the UK over the years, this has become our new favorite. We had the bad luck to book the Elm Crest for only one nght on our way out of the country this time, but we will not plan so badly next time. In fact, we plan to fly INTO Manchester on our next trip to the UK just so we may stay here for two or three nights.

The lady of the house is charming and friendly and incredibly accommodating, and the place itself is just beautiful. The rooms are large and luxurious, with every detail well thought out. I don't quite know why the place has so few reviews on this particular site, but it deserves the highest rating. We look forward to coming back. Thanks so much!

  • Liked — The owner, who made us feel so at home in such a beautiful place at the end of a long week. I had been ill and the vacation hadn't gone as well as we'd hoped, and this last night made a lovely memory for the end of our trip.
  • Disliked — Nothing, really. If pressed, I could say that it was a bit further from the Manchester airport than I'd realized, but that's not the fault of the hotel. It's a fabulous place.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsymoth_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2007

Wonderful bed & breakfast. We would heartily recommend it to everyone. Very comfortable and an excellent breakfast.

Lord & Lady Roberts

  • Liked — Friendliness and comfort
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank orlando608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

The Elm Crest Guesthouse is a little gem that was recommended to us by the proprietor of another Guesthouse which we had tried to book into but had been full. It is a big Victorian house that has been decorated and furnished both tastefully and sympathetically with that era. When we arrived we were greeted by Ginette the proprietor who was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spotless and as nicely decorated as the other areas of the house. The en suite was also spotless with a good shower (unlike the lukewarm trickle we have experienced in other places). There were alsothose little extras that make a difference, we had coffee and homemade scones on arrival, there were a couple of chocolates on each of the saucers on the drinks tray in the room and more than the usual minimum of 4 sachets of coffee etc. For breakfast there was a good selection of cereals fruit juice etc, followed by a very nice cooked breakfast (we had the vegetarian option), the toast came with 2 homemade jams and homemade marmalade and during breakfast Ginette also found time to chat with the guests about their evenings out. All in all, although we were only staying one night it was a very pleasant stay.
We will certainly use the Elm Crest again

  • Liked — Friendly, clean and decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharongar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
1.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
272 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Crest Guest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Crest Guest Hotel

Property: Elm Crest Guest Hotel
Address: 2 Queens Road | Edgerton, Huddersfield HD2 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Crest Guest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Elm Crest Guest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing