We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”

Elm Crest Guest Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elm Crest Guest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just returned from staying here since we went to hear the Messiah by the correct choir in the correct venue! It was marvelous. This is the second time I have stayed with Sue and Chas, and I have recommended it to many of my friends and acquaintances. The tariff is more than reasonable, the rooms clean, warm and comfortable, and the cooked breakfast is very very good! The owners are very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
I picked this place originally because it is a 5 minute walk from where I was born and brought up, so I know the area well, and knew that there are convenient bus stops to Hudds or Halifax 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theraleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Elm Crest Guest Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Last night I stayed stayed at the Elm Crest Guest House at Huddersfield. To be honest, I hadn't set my sights too high because the price was very reasonable, so it was a very pleasant surprise to find such a warm welcome to a spotlessly clean period building. My single room was small but comfortable, with everything I needed. There was a small en-suite fully equipped with basin, loo and shower. The entrance, stairs and dining room were well also well equipped with quality furniture of a style in keeping with the period style of the house. Breakfast was everything you could ask for, whether you chose the full English or Continental version, and there was a good selection of cereals juices, tea pr coffee. Add to all this a friendly and helpful pair of owners and you will understand why I am so impressed. Far, far better than I expected and a very pleasant interlude.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with Sue and Chas, excellent hosts! Fantastic property and decorated to match the building. Room was clean, comfortable and warm. They even started extra early to make me a delicious full English breakfast before I went to work. The complimentary scone on arrival was a lovely idea.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed one night on the 9th October. Lots of parking space ,quiet location. Chas & Sue very friendly & helpful couple. Single Room was cosy & comfortable, spotlessly clean as was the en-suite. As I was leaving early the next morning before breakfast time, Chas said no problem and Sue & Chas got up early to make sure I set off with a lovely full English breakfast .I would recommended this guesthouse to my friends and family. Barry D (titan)

p.s. the scones were great !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A warm welcome (although disappointed when many other reviews mention lovely scones they received on arrival or to eat anytime and it said on the website too that there would be scones or cake and coffee on arrival). May seem a trivial point but if it says that's what will happen then you are disappointed when that doesn't happen.

Lovely breakfast, well cooked and lovely home-made jam/marmalade.

A friendly couple who don't talk too much to you which is what I like.

A comfortable room with comfy twin beds. Nice en-suite room (didn't use the shower as only stayed 1 night).

Doubt if I would go to Huddersfield again as it was just a one-off to visit Alexandra Spa which is a couple of minutes walk but would stay here again.

Suggestions for owners: On the website it would be useful to have walking directions from the rail station as not everyone arrives by car or wants to pay for a taxi (as you suggested) when they can walk for 20 mins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice guest house in a green area of Hudds, about 10 mins or so walk from the centre. Nice room, pleasant owners, nice breakfast. Very reasonably priced, Hudds is rather lacking a bit in its range of hotels nowadays with the demise of the George. This is a certainly one of the best options.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here last weekend. It was lovely to arrive feeling very hot and dehydrated and be met by Chas and offered hot refreshing tea and lots of scrumptious scones with homemade preserves. The room was comfortable and had a very efficient hairdryer - usually they are not very effective. There was plenty of space and felt very comfortable with a couple of easy chairs to sit in. We ate out at the 'Sizzling pub' which was surprisingly good and modestly priced. Breakfat was excellent- not too huge a portion- just right. My husband thought the home made marmalade was wonderful. The only slight negative was the slow shower -- but all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceramica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
554 reviews
0.9 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
275 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Crest Guest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Crest Guest Hotel

Address: 2 Queens Road | Edgerton, Huddersfield HD2 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Crest Guest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elm Crest Guest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing