We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm welcoming”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for a night, a special one, Halloween. We were visiting England, and we didn't have a reservation. It was late, but we had a very warm welcoming, and we were offered a very nice suite. It had lots of appliances, a huge TV, a big bathroom with a window on the ceiling, so I could see the stars when in the bath tub. We had tea, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room, which were delicious after a day spent on the road. We were offered a discount due to the late check in, and even a delicious breakfast. The lodge is located in the centre of Huddersfield and it has a private parking place. It was a great stay! The staff was great too! Would go there again!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dianabrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hei! dianabrasov,

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our award winning breakfast. I hope you were happy to discover we had a room available on the night you arrived. Thank you for mentioning our on-site secure car park and also the fact that we are in the Town Centre. If you visit our area of the UK in the future, we will be delighted to welcome you back.

Multumesc!

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    135
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
135
186
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay. The room was clean, cosy, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was excellent with a fantastic choice of cereals, fresh fruit, juices and cooked breakfast, and the eggs, whether scrambled, fried, boiled, cooked on the spot. Brilliant! The staff were so friendly. Conveniently situated near town centre with secure car parking. Will definitely be going back for another visit when next in Huddersfield.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 221Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello 221Rose,

Thank you so much for the 5 out of 5 review and your lovely comments regarding our award winning breakfast. It was also good of you to mention that we are located in the town centre and are in fact the only hotel within the ring road.
Your kind words are much appreciated and I do hope we see you again.

Best Wishes
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here for a couple of days. The room was very nice, the bed very comfy, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My partner sprained his ankle (we thought - we found out later that it was broken), and I asked the night porter if we could have some ice for it, which he very quickly supplied, in a tea-towel for ease of application.
Also - a sign of a good hotel - the breakfast was delicious. Would recommend this hotel, and will certainly return when we visit our friends in Huddersfield again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello Angi D,

Before anything else, I should say how sorry I was to hear about the ankle problem, I am pleased we could help in a small way and hope that recovery is quick. No climbing Christmas trees please!
Thank you for your kind words and we too hope to see you again on your next visit to Huddersfield. Have a lovely festive season.

Kind Regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean and have all you need. Breakfast is nice and you can order food from outside. It is few minutes walk from the shopping area and market places. Looking forward to next time :)))

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swidans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello Swidans,

Thanks for the 5 out of 5 review and for taking the time to make our hotel your first review on Trip Advisor. It was good to read that you noticed that we are in fact in the town centre, our location is important to many of our guests.
Thanks once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at the Lodge. I just cannot fault it in any way, the family are amazing, the long serving staff, the breakfasts, the secure car parking, the spotlessly clean individual rooms - not your regulation size rooms, everything is spot on, even the Guiness has a beautiful head on it......
I cannot see any reason to go anywhere else.
I asked the staff to change a "wonky" lightbulb and received a personal thank you from Johnny himself.
I repeat what more could you ask?
Many thanks again.

Room Tip: All rooms are indivual and different, but all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotfeat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello hotfeat44,

Great to have a review from a Senior Contributor to Trip Advisor and from a regular customer. Hopefully this indicates that we are maintaining and hopefully improving our standards. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed there yesterday. Very friendly, and very helpful owners and staff. Excellent Yorkshire breakfast. Reassuringly secure carpark. One facility I have never come across before, you can buy a takeaway meal, take it back to the hotel and use their plates, cutlery and dining room to eat it, amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Stephen453,

Thank you for your comments about our Yorkshire breakfast and our free on-site secure parking .It was also good to read that you enjoyed the food delivery service. This is popular with our guests who don't wish to have a large meal or venture out in the cold evenings. I do hope we can welcome you back to Uddersfield!

Kind Regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We are just back from a very comfortable weekend at this most excellent hotel. We did have a little trouble finding it mostly due having turned off the ring road too late and then been unable to turn into the right road due to no access signs. If you turn off in the right place the hotel is actually brown signed so I would recommend good directions before you set off. We did several laps!! When we did find it however we parked our car securely and with no trouble. We were given a very friendly welcome and shown to our room. The room was very clean and well equipped with a trouser press/ironing board and an iron in addition to the usual hairdryer, tea/coffee, tissues etc. The bathroom was a good size with overbath shower and plenty of hot water. Beware if you twist the shower pipe it obstructs the flow, nothing wrong with the shower it was my fault entirely. The hotel is very close to the shops and many excellent restaurants. We ate at Discovery Bay and Meson la Pepa which are very close and almost across the road from each other on Wood Street. The breakfast here was very good, we could not have asked for anything more. You can order a takeaway and eat in the hotel if you wish, they will supply crockery etc which is a nice touch. The staff are all very friendly and most helpful with lots of local knowledge.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 32 which had 2 chairs as opposed to the one which you find in most hotels.We had 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleocairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi cleocairn,

Having read your review, I am pleased you managed to find us. Due to our location being in the heart of town along with the one way system etc We can sometimes be hard to fine. Your comments regarding the Central Lodge Hotel are most welcome and I was pleased to know that our recommendations on places to eat was also of help. Perhaps they may appreciate a review? Thank you once again for your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Best Wishes
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 17 in Huddersfield
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Property: Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Address: Hotel 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing