We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really look after you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They really look after you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Central Lodge over the years, for at least a week a visit. They have always greeted me and if my room wasnt ready (flying in from America), they offer breakfast or tea while I wait. The cooked breakfast or continental has many options, but who wouldnt go for the full English breakfast cooked to order. The rooms are great, like staying with a favorite family member. And sitting at the bar at the end of the evening, chatting with the owners, staff and locals that may be there reminds you of how things used to be.

If you like posh, this isnt the place for you, but if you want to feel like you are important and a valued guest, then stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building or facing away from the ring road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shrimp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Shrimp P,

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time and for your comments and high scores. Like many travellers in this modern age including the many visitors we have from the U.S.A. Standards are expected to be high. The family and team are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable with us.
Many thanks again and hope to see you later in the year
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    132
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
134
183
73
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a truly fantastic place to stay. A quiet backwater right in the city centre! Easy parking. Staff who are totally on the ball - unobtrusive but always ready to make your stay as easy and pleasant as possible. Lovely large, light bathroom. Attractive large bedroom containing everything you would need and the most comfortable bed in the world. A small but well-stocked bar, with a television screen and a barman with just the right blend of friendly professionalism. Lovely breakfast - exactly as requested, served quickly and with a smile. Always someone present to help, and keep everything feeling secure. Don't consider anywhere else - book here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Gail S,
What a lovely review and thank you for your kind comments! It seems that everything went well with your stay and our team played a part in helping towards making your visit pleasurable. I have passed on your comments to the people you came into contact with and I thank you on their behalf for mentioning their important role. Thanks again, hope to see you in the future.
Kind Regards
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my second visit to Central Lodge and as before, the room was very comfortable, breakfast was very tasty and the welcome very warm. Cannot fault this as a place to stay.
A cooked evening meal is not available however they provide menus from local takeaways, allowing you to eat it in the dining area with a drink from the bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainFloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello CaptainFlos,
Full marks, thank you.
It's good to have reviews not just from first time visitors but those who have stayed before. I look forward to you coming back to stay with us and we have some new menus for you to look at and enjoy at the bar!
Cheers
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Central Lodge for one night on the 18th April as my daughter was attending an interview at the University. We were given an incredibly friendly greeting on our arrival with the owner Joe offering to advise us later regarding the location of the University, facilities in the town etc.

The family room, in the hotel annex, was nice and clean, with a pristine, modern, bathroom, plentiful hot water, soaps and shampoos and one of the best showers I have used.

We chose a local restaurant based on advice from the Central website and it was a very good recommendation.

On our return we were greeted with a complementary drink from the bar in the conservatory by Joe and he provided us with maps, his views and experience of the town and University and gave our daughter his business card so she could contact him if she ever had any problems whilst at Uni, or was stuck in town late.

The next day we were provided with a good quality breakfast with plenty of choice. We were allowed to leave our car in the ultra secure car park both overnight and for much of the next day whilst we were at the University.

The friendliness and helpful nature of the staff and owners is a great credit to the Central and really distinguishes the hotel from it's competitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Brian D,
Not much I can say other than thank you for a great review! I do hope we will see you again while your daughter is at Huddersfield University. I think I remember you and your daughter is Amy. If I'm right please wish her every success with her studies from all the team at the Central Lodge.

Kind Regards
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at Central Lodge twice now while working at the Theatre. The team there are always really helpful and friendly. They are used to long and short stay visitors and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfast is great, and you can get a late night drink! Well recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anantiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello anantig,
Always good to receive a review from people who are working at theatres. I would imagine you stay in many different places of various types of standards. This made your review all the more a pleasure to read and especially to see that this is the first time you have left a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much and I hope to see you again on your next visit to 'Hudders'.
Many thanks
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed just one night but was very impressed with all aspects of this hotel.
Room was very nice, bigger than normal and I even had a dining area.
Nice large bathroom with a very good shower.
Although very close to the very busy town centre, no noise from the Saturday night revellers.
The breakfast was excellent. Choice was good, quality excellent, and probably the best hotel breakfast I've had, and I've had a lot in my time. Just a shame they don't (at the moment) do evening meals.
I have no reservations about recommending this hotel. 10/10

Room Tip: I got a room in the mews, nice size, and good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Joseph C,
Many thanks for the review, it seems you have covered all aspects. Our breakfast has won several awards and is very popular with nearly all our guests. It is not feasible to serve dinner as there are so many good restaurants with an excellent range of cuisines all within a 10 minute walk from our hotel. Many guests order food to be delivered giving them another option. I do hope that this didn't spoil your stay and you managed to find something to suit you!
Thanks once again.
Kind Regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Four guys lived in the Central Lodge for three nights in April 2013. The purpose of the trip was to see Huddersfield vs Millwall. (3-0). We have only positive things to say about the hotel and the staff. Great accommodations, great prices and great location.

Are we going to Huddersfield again, we'll be happy to stay in Central Lodge.
Unfortunately, three nights are too short of time, we would liked to stayed longer if we could.

/ The four Swedes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterClevarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello PeterClevarp,

Cheers for the lovely review. It was a great weekend for the Terriers and it's good to know you and the boys had a good time. I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff who worked over the weekend and we all hope you'll come back soon. Hopefully to see Town play Malmo!

Thanks again
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Property: Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Address: Hotel 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing