We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Joe and Johnny and all the staff look after you from the moment you arrive till the time of departure, l thin k it sums it up by saying arrive as a guest depart as a friend

Room Tip: Just leave it to them, you won't be dissapointed
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TownCrier98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

OhYeh! OhYeh!
Thank you for your lovely comments and the review, we look forward to seeing you again but unless on an official visit please leave the bell in the car park!
All the best
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 735 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

This lodge is among the best hotels I stayed after traveling over 15 countries. It's small, though, clean and neat. The most impressive thing is the warmness from the family that makes me feel so comfortable. You must try its fantastic customized home-made breakfast. It's also an eco-hotel that takes advantage of solar cell and electricity-save bulbs not to mention the heating facility using the hot water at the room. I strongly recommend this

Room Tip: A nice greenhouse severs as the family room in the ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Mr.Taichung,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our family run hotel.
It is always a pleasure to welcome visitors from other countries, especially when they are doing business with our local companies!
We hope to see you again we you can enjoy our award winning breakfast.
Best wishes,
Joe and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very friendly, warm and helpful staff made my stay at the Central Lodge a very pleasant and relaxing one. My room was spacious, light and airy, with a comfy bed and all the extras that you need - a good sized Telly, tea making stuff, free wifi, and hooray - a bath! The late bar was a very handy thing too. And to cap it all, they posted my shirt back to my home when I dopily left it behind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T0m_J440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Hello and thank you for your review.
Glad you got your shirt back!
Also pleased that you enjoyed the bath.
All our rooms have bath and shower, so you will know where to stay next time!
Thanks again,

Kind Regards
Joe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Returning again to this family run hotel I was absolutely delighted with the welcome I received from both Johnny and Joe Marsden and their staff. My room, this time, was one of the larger ones, very light and airy, facing the cobbled access road. Excellent furnishings, plenty of storage space, including a dining table where I could spread out my writing materials, and scribble to my hearts content. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bath/shower room, as with the main room, were kept in pristine condition by the excellent housekeeping staff. The breakfast staff were always polite and catered for all your needs. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a very secure enclosed parking area and you can be assured that a high standard of security prevails. There are many take-away and eat in premises within easy walking distance of the hotel, as you are only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Apart from that you can order in and use the main dining room and bar area to eat your meal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Its you again!

Thank you for the lovely comments you made on our questionaire and for yet another review on TripAdvisor.

I dread to think what you may put if your next visit isnt as good as the last few times.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and the quality of the rooms, the service and the food has been consistently excellent. It is a pleasure to stay at a hotel with some local character unlike the ubiquitous travel lodge that dominate the short stay market. The staff are unfailingly welcoming and friendly, the breakfasts are very good, and the car park reassuringly safe. We have stayed in a number of the rooms and they are all of good quality and clean, There is a comfortable conservatory where we have sat with friends a number of times after a night out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Having read your review, I was really pleased to see that although this is your first review it is after you have stayed many times.

It is good for myself and the team to hear that everything is consistantly good for our repeat and regular guests.

Thank you for your kind words.

Best wishes,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Finding the hotel was easy by car, a few yards off the ring road in Beast Market which is signed on the ring road.
We were greeted by Mr Marsden who directed us to the gated secure car park. Check in was easy and the room we were allocated to was 32. Before we could unload Mr Marsden then offered us a larger room (30) which we accepted. Both these room had ample drawers and hanging space with well stocked bathrooms. which were fitted with lovely floor to ceiling tiles.
A full English breakfast was served in the dining room which had all the other usual uncooked foods and drinks. Hot breakfast was very well cooked to order.
WiFi is offered free and in addition, for those without their own computer, online facilities are available, again free.
The hotel doesn't offer evening meals but various options are available for eating in-house and there are many local restaurants nearby,
The Marsden family who own the hotel are very friendly and will happily help you find your way around Huddersfield and the surrounding area, including helping with 'what's on' in an evening.
The whole hotel was nicely decorated with no visible signs of wear and tear.
We will certainly use this hotel again when we next visit Huddersfield.
Thanks to the Marsdens for making this a very happy visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 32 is on the West side on the first floor so has the sun in the evening. This was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

I think you have said everything with your comprehensive review.

I would like to thank you for mentioning my brother John. We pride ourselves on being a family run business with a small team of great people behind us.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My father and I stayed at the central lodge for a weekend trip to Huddersfield and we could not be happier with the accommodations. When we arrived, the staff personally showed us to our room to make sure that it was to our liking. Throughout our trip, the staff continued to be very warm and helpful.

The lodge itself is very central (only a short 5 minute walk from the train station and the football stadium) and clean. Additionally, each night stay comes with a nicely cooked breakfast.

We highly recommend the hotel. It met all of our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottyaellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

I can only thank you for your excellent review and hope that the result at the football stadium was what you wished for.

Many thanks to both of you.

Kind regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
554 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
318 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Address: 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: $103 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing