We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Briar Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

By easy I mean its easy to get to from the M62 and easy to park. The newly refurbished rooms are comfortable. Reception staff are friendly and bar staff attentive. Breakfast was good standard with good choice. I would recommend and will book again for my next Huddersfield trip. By the way if you're worried about turning right out of the hotel car park into the rush hour traffic in the morning - don't be. The people in Huddersfield are always willing to let you out of the junction!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    96
    40
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
66
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We chose The Briar Court for our wedding venue on the 12th October. We had a truly amazing day. The day was perfect from start to finish. The staff were polite, attentive and professional throughout. The food was wonderful. We simply cannot fault Isobel and her team. This is not our 'biased' opinion, this was the opinion of our guests too. Thankyou so much for your contribution in making our day one we will never forget!!
David and Michelle Pearson

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellepearson1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Not a bad hotel overall but despite being refurbished we both had cold showers - inexcusable in a modern hotel. Shame as apart from that one (important) item everything seemed OK.

Another real turn-off was the clutch of girls smoking outside the front entrance every time we went into the hotel - I know it's better than them smoking inside but there must be somewhere the hotel can find that's better than under the entrance canopy. Like running a Rothman's gauntlet.

The restaurant next to the hotel looked OK, by the way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Briar Court once or twice a year over the last ten years, I recently stayed in one of the newly refurbished bedrooms and must comment on comfy mattress and pillows, my room was excellent and was good value, the breakfast was good as always. I ate at the adjoining Italian restaurant Da Sandros where the fresh fish was amazing

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed one very pleasant night in Briar Court Hotel even though our reason for staying in the area was not so pleasant. We were attending a family funeral nearby and booked one twin room and two single rooms for our party.
The rooms had obviously not long been refurbished and were fresh, clean and done to a very good standard. Although the rooms were quite small they were more than adequate for a short stay. All three rooms that we used were very acceptable.
The beds were very comfortable. Some of the best beds we have had in a hotel. The mattress, pillows and linen were of very good quality.
The bathroom was a good size with enough fluffy towels. I read in another review that the shower was not too good but we found it to be OK.
There was everything you could need in the bedroom including a good sized wall mounted TV, a hairdryer, a well stocked hospitality tray and even a trouser press. There was ample wardrobe and drawer space too.
The breakfast was very good. Can't think why anybody would find fault with it. There was plenty of fruit, cereal, pastries and juices. The tea was served in a pot and, yes, the coffee was served by the cup but the staff were quite quick to refill on request. The Full English Breakfast certainly was a challenge. They certainly don't skimp and it was good quality ingredients. We were well satisfied.
Our rooms did overlook the car park and the main road but then it would be difficult to have a view from a hotel in that vicinity. It was quite quiet at night even though we had a window open.
If we needed to stay in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to book in this hotel. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Rat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a below average hotel but good value if you are not too fussy. Very dated and tired looking rooms that are very small. Probably date back to 70/80's. Chairs in the room covered in stains with cigarette burn marks on bedside table.
Think I was the only person staying in the whole hotel that night but still gave me very average room overlooking busy room.
Tip: Try more modern hotels first or go for a superior room away from road. Plus side, good location next to M62 and decent wifi.

Room Tip: Superior on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ended up staying here as the hotel in Holmfirth we should of stayed in was double booked so had no room for us. This hotel was booked for us by the Holmfirth tourist information centre staff at 3pm after we found out our fate at our original hotel which we had booked 3 months earlier. We found the hotel to be very clean and tidy. Ok our room wasn't the largest but considering we only wanted to sleep in it, it was fine. Nice selection of hot drinks on our hospitality tray. We found breakfast to be absolutely fine. Nice choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, yogurts etc. We had a lovely cooked to order hot breakfast. Only gripe if you ordered tea you got a pot, if you ordered coffee you got a cup. Would of prefered a pot of coffee. Should we find ourselves in that area again which is doubtful we would definately stay there again. We were so glad that they had got this one room left. We found it to be quite as well. Staff were all friendly as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Court Hotel

Property: Briar Court Hotel
Address: Halifax Road | Birchencliffe, Huddersfield HD3 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briar Court Hotel combines great service with flexible facilities and delicious food, making it the ideal venue for your business event. From the moment you arrive, our friendly staff are on hand to take care of all your business needs, leaving you free to relax and concentrate on your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Briar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing