We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly Huddersfield hotel!”
Review of Briar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briar Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

After staying in a couple of chain hotels in the Huddersfield area, we decided to stay at somewhere a bit smaller. A much better idea. The hotel is a lot smaller hence there is a lot less walking about from car to hotel room, no huge car parks, no endless hotel corridors! The rooms were comfortable and we had a kind of dressing room annexe which was very useful indeed! The breakfast is included in the price and was of a very good standard and we also used the function room facilities. We had originally booked the Briar Suite which was a very large function room, too large for our needs but then when we expressed our reservations about this, the hotel were able to offer us very quickly the Court Room, a function room far more suited for our purposes. All in all a very pleasant and successful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamS4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Briar Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for a family event and was a bit cautious. Check in was a bit slow but after that it was fab. When I got there, there was a big wedding party in the bar - oh no I thought, not a noisy night ahead. No such thing happend even though my room was in the first floor at the top of the stairs over the bar. When the bar was packed an humming, you could hear a pin drop in my room.

Room and bathroom were very clean, recently decorated, good shower, comfy bed, good shower, good tea and coffee stuff and nice telly

The Italian restaurant attached was very good too - fair prices and good service (packed with locals - that tells you something).

One thing they had that I never see in even expensive hotels is decent loo paper - a small thing that is so often "cost engineered" to the cheapest possible. Not here - better than home!

The best bit was breakfast - it is rare to see a good compliment of well trained, attentive staff at breakfast time - food and service was great - better than I have seen at £150+ per night hotels. Good quality breakfast ingredients too - fresh fruit, quality juice, nice coffee and good cooked offering including eggs cooked to order on a nice hot plate. So often you get cheap sausages at hotel breakfasts (I know a good sauasage from a poor one) - these were top quality.

Good parking and friendly staff.

Highly recommended - top marks to the manager, staff and owners.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troufghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Pleasant, friendly small hotel. Clean rooms, a little small but contain almost everything you need, plenty of wardrobe / draw space. Excellent breakfast. Plenty of parking spaces, very handy for motorways. we had a small problem with the electrics (kettle/hairdryer not working) which was quickly fixed even on a sunday morning. Excellent value compared with other local hotels and with the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasiderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on Business is September 2012. The hotel is in a good location, a couple of minutes from the M62. The actual hotel is clean and in good order, and staff are helpful. My room was a little tired and probably needs a refresh soon. Car parking and free wifi, plus an amazing breakfast were all included in my £40 room rate! Pizza place next door is part of the hotel and was also very good. All in all I would stay here again when next in Huddersfield.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-small-cheese-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. It is on the outskirts of Huddersfield. It is a pleasant place to stay and represents good value for money. My room was of a reasonable size, comfortable and very clean. I had breakfasts at the hotel, and these provided a good variety, and well cooked food. All the hotel staff I encountered were very pleasant. It is clearly a popular hotel locally as two wedding receptions were held there during my stay. These did not impinge on the hotel guests, and the rooms were quiet and peaceful. There isn't a lift in the hotel but there were not many stairs to negotiate, so it was not a problem. For travellers without a car, there are excellent bus services in Huddersfield - and the bus bus station is the best one I have ever seen. There are bus stops, for both directions, very close to the hotel and a regular bus service into Huddersfield.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMM183G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed one night afert having been at a wedding. Staff Very freindly and rooms very clean and tidy -To say its quite near a main road you would hardly notice - Beds were very comfortable and room was correct temparature.

Would def recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggie1676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We attended a wedding at this hotel in August. Firstly the wedding was great and was well organised by the hotel as was the food and venue. If you are getting married and looking for a reasonable price packages look no further than this hotel. It gives you what it says on the tin.

The rooms themselves are a little small but have everything you need. We were at the front and the road is quite noisy and you can hear just slightly the M62 in the background. Having said that it was a very comfortable night's sleep. There is access to free wifi in the hotel and your room.

The breakfast was something else. I think it was one of the best breakfasts I ever had. It is made to order and was delicious


The staff although some really young just could not do enough for you. Very friendly and well mannered.

My son was not feeling well and needed to eat something and the staff were great got him a sandwich and a drink of water without any fuss.

There is an Italian restraunte located on the site if you fancy a change. It appeared to be busy all day so I am assuming the foo is good. There is also a garage with shop straight opposite the hotel.

The hotel has a great comfortable foyer that is great for meetings especially given it is just off te M62.

I would stay there again. You get what it says on the tin with this hotel good value and very professional and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emers1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
2.0 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
1.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Court Hotel

Address: Halifax Road | Birchencliffe, Huddersfield HD3 3NT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range: $82 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briar Court Hotel combines great service with flexible facilities and delicious food, making it the ideal venue for your business event. From the moment you arrive, our friendly staff are on hand to take care of all your business needs, leaving you free to relax and concentrate on your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Briar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing