We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian food for some time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Vito

San Vito
Ranked #27 of 572 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to San Vito restaurant, one of the most original and modern Italian restaurants in Huddersfield. Our food and wine menus have been specially selected with care by Angelo & Marco. Our Modern creations and daily specials are there for our guests to enjoy.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian food for some time”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

On arrival we were greeted with friendly hellos by the staff. The meal was delicious, restaurant nicely decorated, good atmosphere and we received excellent service. We came to Huddersfield to visit family and celebrate our mum and dad's wedding anniversary, and we hope to visit this great restaurant again soon. Just wish we had a San Vitos in our hometown!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Becka66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    87
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST I've EVER had!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant, beautiful authentic Italian food. My first visit since it opened but travelled over 80 miles to taste chef Marco's food again since sampling it in another restaurant in Leeds! Angela's front if house skill is second to none. I tool a friend whose only comment was "wow" when his sea bass arrived! Truly an experience and I will be returning again and again ... Food from heaven!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Abialex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

When we were waiting for our meal we could hear the ping of the microwave! My main was hot in places, but cold in the middle so it had clearly not been freshly made.
The best part of the meal was the desserts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CHTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo D, Manager at San Vito, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello, thank you for the review. We are trying to understand where the argument comes from because it would be difficult to hear the microwave from the kitchen, and you might have confused the 'ping' with the bell that the chef uses to call the service to send the food away. While the meals are ALWAYS freshly prepared, the only reason we use a microwave is to warm the fudge cake up. Did we know about the meal being cold when our service checked on the table, we could have attended to it at the time. Otherwise, it is difficult to realise which food you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My best experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It's the third time we visit San Vito in Huddersfield and every time it was an amazing event . The food is by far the best , the service excellent and Gradisca beer my favorite beer . We tried nearly everything from the little menu they have and every time it has been fabulous. Starters like mozzarella and king prawns are my test, my wife loves calzone san vito. Hi would like thank the manager for the nice service and atmosphere.......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonywilson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Another girl's birthday restaurant. Poor.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Yet another low quality Italian in Huddersfield. The sort of place gangs of girls go for their calzones and garlic bread. The decor was nice but the bottled beer, whilst cold, was grossly over-priced.

I had a totally average seafood pasta, with little pieces of overcooked seafood swimming around in an ordinary sauce. MY wife had a 5 out of 10 risotto. Starter was a big mess, a splodge of a "pancake" sitting in tomato sauce. My wife enjoyed her prawns more but felt the fish stock used was of low quality.

If someone opened a decent Italian in Huddersfield town centre they'd make a killing. This won't. There are only so many girl's birthday's every year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Huddersfield_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Vito also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to San Vito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing