We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Jannat Restaurant - CLOSED

Jannat Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Rare to find such authentic flavours. And such good value.

Two of us enjoyed the buffet - very convenient as we were going to a concert so had limited time.

Starters were freshly cooked mixed Pakora, onion bhajees, chicken wings, brought to the table. Lovely to find fish Pakora included. Served with salad, sauces and pickle.

Plenty of variety of main courses on the buffet. 2 chicken dishes, 2 veg dishes, lamb on the bone (again very authentic), fish, and rice. All with very different flavours. Choice of nan, cooked to order. Delicious!

Final thing which sets this restaurant apart is the desserts. There was a choice of 3 on the buffet, and further hot choices on request. I had the Indian rice pudding, which finished the meal off very nicely.

Also worth a mention is the choice of lassi (yoghurt) drinks. The mango one was very well flavoured and refreshing.

Service was friendly and relaxed, and the surroundings were very comfortable.

Well worth another visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for such kind and positive words in your review of our restaurant. We hope you enjoyed the concert as much as you enjoyed our food. We hope to see you, your friends and family dining at jannat restaurant in the near future.

Thank you once again

Jannat Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    31
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch at such a good price!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went for the lunch buffet and couldn't believe the quantity and quality we got for £5.99 each. we also got a jug of juice to share, which there was plenty of. The starter came out, cooked fresh to order with a salad. There were chicken wings, fried fish, onion bhaji, potatoes and more all with different marinades. Then we helped ourselves to the various different curries available, including very tender chicken and lamb dishes. There was also a vegetarian option and some rice. We did not have a dessert as we were so full after the meal, however there was a large selection available that all looked very nice.

The only issue we had was the atmosphere, as we were the only people in, although on a Tuesday lunch time it was perhaps expected to be quiet.

The restaurant is decorated nicely, the food was very nice and a good price, I would definitely recommend and will be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We are working hard on advertisement in order to bring more custom into the restaurant. Tripadvisor and our exposure in it has helped increase the amount of people enjoying our food and service. Slowly but surely we are getting busier and we hope that next time you wish to dine with us, there will be a better atmosphere in the restaurant.

Hope to see you at our restaurant again soon

Thank you once again

Jannat Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I am always skeptical about rave reviews, but in search of something different we thought we'd give the Jannat a whirl. It was, quite simply, fantastic. It's located in an unpromising position, almost inside the bus station, but the moment you walk through the door you know you are in for a treat. The decor is tasteful, and the menu unlike any other that I've ever seen in an 'Indian' restaurant . The food was freshly cooked to perfection, and the service was friendly, if a little slow. The buffet looked good, but the menu was so interesting that went a la carte. We were given complimentary bowls of a delicious soup that the owner is thinking of adding to the menu, and I had an excellent on-the-bone sizzling lamb dish. My wife had an excellent chicken dish. You should be aware that the restaurant does not sell alcoholic drinks, and I forgot to ask if you can take your own in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for such a good review. Sorry about the late reply.
We're glad you went for the a la carte menu and tried some of the dishes we have to offer on there. The fact that we have focused on one area in South Asia, as opposed to all of India and Pakistan, means that we can work towards providing that true punjabi taste to you. We hope this showed when you dined with us

We have an alcohol free rule in the restaurant because of cultural reasons, meaning alcohol cannot be brought onto the premises either. Although we are aware that customer would like a drink while eating this is not a possibility with the current management. However, we urge our customers to try the food anyway. There are many pubs and bars close to the restaurant, all of whom would welcome our diners.

Another option could be to take the food out and enjoy the the taste of jannat restaurant in an alcohol friendly environment.

Either way, we welcome any customers to come in and enjoy our food and we hope to see you and your wife dining at jannat restaurant soon.

Thank you once again

Jannat Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“jannat buffet”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We've been looking for a new Asian buffet and tried the Jannat without any recommendations or prior research: we certainly weren't disappointed by the food, it is truly beautiful, authentic fare, and if you want to taste real Punjabi food (ie. not tailored for the British pallete) this is a real winner. It's a shame that this place wasn't busier - it certainly deserves to be, and can only surmise that their lack of a liquor licence is to blame for that - I can safely say that its certainly not the food, decor or service, all of which is second to none.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review of our restaurant. We're glad you enjoyed the food and the service offered to you. Over the past few months we have slowly got busier, largely due to the popularity of trip advisor and its users. We think the alcohol free nature of the restaurant probably has had a big effect on the amount of customers coming through the door, but we feel that customers should still come in to try the food and then go to one of the nearby bars or pubs for a drink if they wish to. It's a shame people are deterred because of the lack of alcohol on the premises. We urge all readers on Tripadvisor to at least try our food and service and then gauge whether alcohol is truly needed with the food or not.

Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to see you dining at jannat restaurant in the near future

Jannat restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having enjoyed Jannat so much on a previous visit, it was time to return to share the experience with another friend who hadn't been before. Once again, the owner provided a superb feast - catering specifically to our requests, at a very affordable price. I cannot rate this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LimaLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for another great review, and we hope you keep on enjoying our food and service whenever you visit us in the future, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Thank you once again

Jannat Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jannat Restaurant also viewed

Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Stocksmoor, Huddersfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing