We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Neaversons Tea House & Restaurant
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I had a delightful time, we had bellini cocktails and afternoon tea. We rang when they opened and asked if they could fit us in as we were in the area and they were more than accomodating. When we arrived they were busy but had reserved a table by the window for us. The service was very good, not overly fussy allowing us to enjoy the wonderful afternoon tea. We enjoyed the relaxed 1930's atmosphere and lovely surroundings, with the temptation of buying something to take home from the selection of tasteful ceramic and glass decorating the Tea house. When we were unable to eat all of the wonderful cakes they very kindly packaged them to take home to enjoy later. I would most certainly go again to explore the other items on their menu and other areas of the tea house, it is wonderfully set out on three levels each with their own atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    25
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ladies that lunch”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and a friend recently had afternoon tea here and I have to say it was one of the best we have had so far. It was pretty obvious that the place isnt really geared towards having children with the diners, however we were provided with a highchair and made to feel welcome. They also made a sandwich "without frills" for my son aged 4years. Reasonable prices, nice atmosphere, loved the music. Thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyaboutmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic well done Neaversons”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited with my wife and we found the staff very a tentative, very pleasing and the food was great, from start to finish a very good evening would visit again, and would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelflav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely evening ...”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My friend and I had a Groupon voucher for cocktails and lobster. We rung to book in advance and received a very friendly response. We were a little worried that because we had a voucher we would be treated differently but our fears were completely unfounded. We arrived early and were offered the chance to be seated straight away. The staff were aware of our voucher without having to tell them again and we were immediately shown the cocktail menu and told we could choose from any of the champagne cocktails which were very nice. The lobster meal was outstanding and we were asked a couple of times if everything was ok. We decided to have a dessert and chose a cheese board and a trio of desserts so that we could share them. We asked the waitress for 2 spoons and explained that we were going to share. Both the dessert plate and cheese board were packed with lovely goodies and the waitress whispered that she had given us a little extra as we were sharing ... what a lovely touch. All in all a lovely dining experience which brought back lovely nostalgic memories of visiting with my parents when it was a china shop when I was a little girl :-) - will have no hesitation in revisiting or recommending!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loobie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Our experience was not good”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited today for our daughters 19th birthday tea. The restaurant was fairly quiet. Nice and interesting decor. Comfortable chairs. Nice crockery.
Service was pretty bland: our daughter arrived early and was not offered a drink or anything whilst she was waiting. When we arived we chose the afternoon tea. The waiter suggested 2 teas fto share with 3 people. This arrived in reasonable time but the sandwiches were very small so we ordered another tea, asking for more sandwiches.
The food was very mixed. It is clear that some of the cakes were shop bought and some were more home made. The scones were tasty.
The sandwich fillings were relatively bland: the ingredients sound good - smoked salmon, ham, savoury cheese - but the result was bland.
We were never offered a refill/another tea. No-one ever asked if everything was OK.
We asked for the bill - but had to ask again.
The waiter did run after us with the camera we had left - which was very good.
But overall our feeling was that this tea is over-priced (£14 per head) for what it is. The waiter asked when he took the order if this was a voucher meal indicating that this must be a frequent way of eating here. I guess few people would want to pay the full price we paid. Neither my wife nor I felt good after this experience, and we would certainly not recommend Neaversons based on this experience. Just not enough quality for a celebration.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neaversons Tea House & Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing