We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest ice cream in Yorkshire”
Review of Yummy Yorkshire

Yummy Yorkshire
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Yummy Yorkshire is an award-winning, artisan ice cream producer, making the most delicious luxury dairy ice cream using ingredients sourced as close to their Yorkshire farm as possible. The onsite ice cream parlour and restaurant sells speciality coffees and teas, homemade cakes as well as a selection of freshly cooked food by the resident chef. Children are also very welcome at Yummy Yorkshire and are catered for with their very own hot and cold children's menu. Yummy Yorkshire hosts regular events for customers throughout the year including Easter Family Days, Open Farm Sunday, Tractor Fest, Spooky Halloween and Christmas Events in December. The site also hosts Wedding receptions in both the barn and the fields for marquees, yurts and tipis.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The finest ice cream in Yorkshire”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A lovely little ice cream parlour selling spectacular ice cream with many flavours to choose from. The ice cream is made on site and they are regularly introducing new innovative flavours to try.
They also sell a decent coffee and if its not raining there's a great play area outside for the kids

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you for reviewing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    99
    35
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found Yummy Yorkshire with Google search for home made ice cream and have become firm fans in the two years since that day!

Quite often we'll head over on a quiet Sunday for lunch - and of course an amazing ice cream. I've tried lots of the flavours (I try to have something different every time) but there are still so many I've yet to sample. I can honestly say I've never been disappointed. It's become a bit of 'destination' for us!

The first time we ate at Yummy Yorkshire we both had a hot roast beef sandwich, which I can honestly say was out of this world - so much so that we still talk about it now!

Moving on to the ice cream, Marmalade Cheescake and Oreo and Cream are my husband's favourites to date whilst I love the Elderflower and Gooseberry.

I'd highly recommend Yummy Yorkshire to anyone - couples, families, parties.... it's a fab local business doing what it does extremely well!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaBPR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments we really appreciate you taking the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful ice cream whatever the season”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Whether its a warm summers day or an icey cold one (to eat inside) Yummy Yorkshire provide gorgeous ice cream. I last visited near christmas and was thrilled to see flavours such as figgy pudding and Christmas cake ice cream as well as one of my favourites, salted caramel. You can buy larger tubs to take home too. They had a lovely Christmas marquee attached to the cafe and we even picked up a couple of gifts. I was amazed to see that you could even buy an ice cream gift hamper! I've also had lunch here and, while there isn't a great range of choice, what I had was lovely. In the summer they have a bouncy castle for the kids so it makes a great trip out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salwal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
We are glad you like the Ice Cream Hamper...we are chuffed when we came up with the idea...it's been a hit ever since...the most unusual hamper you'll find!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very unusual ice cream on offer”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A great place, we found this about 2 years ago and now when we are in the area we call in and test the latest flavours.
We always purchase several tubs to bring home, the cafe is not dog friendly, its quite small and very popular so is often busy, luckily enough they have a gazebo where you can sit if you have a dog

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Google Translation
We are glad you enjoy our creations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best ice cream ever and fun events”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

if you like ice cream this is the place to go - it is the best we have ever tasted and I agree with the previous reviewers - the Marmalade cheesecake is fab, my 21 month old daughter loves it! - there are so many other flavours as well
The cafe also serves great food - really good sandwiches and cakes and they are branching out with specialist nights as well - I would agree the the staff do however need to smile more !

In the spring and summer they hold lots of child friendly events and have a barn area with ride on diggers and often BBQs in summer - check their website out for seasonal events.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjgBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you like the place and what we do. The staff are very hard working...when it's full on it's full on...however they do all read tripadvisor so smile therapy is in progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummy Yorkshire also viewed

Hepworth, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Denby Dale, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Yummy Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing