We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad find”
Review of Hussain's - CLOSED

Hussain's
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hussain's Curry Bistro Lindley is Sabeen Hussain's take on cooking and serving a more individual approach to Asian cuisine.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not a bad find”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We went here with some friends who came to visit us from north of the border, we didn't even know it existed until other friends told us about it. We were very pleased with our findings, food was lovely, the atmosphere was also good and we ate quite late at night so that was a nice surprise. Price was also good as for 4 of us with starters mains, sides and quite a lot of drinks it was just under £70. Defo be returning

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandsrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    59
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just a short review to back up most of the others. Very pleasantly surprised on entering, lovely modern decor yet a cosy atmosphere. Friendly, professional staff. Food excellent and good, (the lamb cut like butter unlike in so many other curry restaurants), reasonably priced beers and drinks. Will be back, this time with friends so the word is spreading! Thinking about it, don't want to tell too many people or we'll never get a table!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penbryngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite Asian restaurant!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have now been three times in last 2 months, and had take away, excellent!!!!! We found absolutely no difference with the quality of the food eaten as take away, it was beautiful. Not as expensive as some restaurants in area, the food tastes fresh, full of flavour and personally think there is plenty of choice as often I feel overwhelmed with choice at most Asian restaurants. The staff are lovely, very friendly but not in your face and I haven't felt rushed at all. Overall an excellent experience :-))

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggysue104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very very average”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I would agree with some of the more gushing reviews of this restaurant in that the staff were very friendly, helpful, affable etc. However, I wasnt that particualrly impressed with the food. I thought the menu was light on dishes and their 'signature' dishes weren't particularly inventive (not that they need to be as such but they werent that tasty either). We Had a mixture of Lamb, chicken and keemas dishes accompanied with Keema Paratha which was ok enough.

The atmosphere is pretty lively and warm feeling as some of the other reviews suggest. I would question a restaurants motives for continously changing their name/brand under such a short period. Anyway, don't expect to come away thinking 'I'll go back there' or 'that was really good'. There are much better Indian/Pakistani restaurants in the Huddersfield area. Lakshmi or Indya for example.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 297JohnK297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachiboxer, Owner at Hussain's, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi John K,
I am sorry to hear that you didn't care much for our food. I'll review the spicing with the Kitchen to address your comments. It sounds like you needed your order making with a bit more kick. We deliberately cook with with delicacy and subtlety so as not to offend the majority.

Street changed its name to Hussain's as this is our family name and we wanted to launch a more affordable menu that better suited the Town and the times. 'Street' was so named as it started life in Brighouse serving Pakistani street foods. This name didn't apply anymore. It's as simple as wanting the name to clearly convey curry house than leave it to chance that people would get what we do. We have unified both our sites which has meant an end to our Brighouse 'Street' themed buffet.

Rambling menus mean stock pot cooking which we openly disavow.

You will be sorry to hear that Indya has called it a day so you only have Laxmi left of your favourites.

Sorry once again for not sending you away extolling our virtues.

Shehzad Hussain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited hussains on Friday evening and found it to be a lovely place. The food was gorgeous, the restaurant was smart and posh, the service was excellent, but the price was very reasonable and a pleasant surprise...we will be eating here again and trying their takeaway menu too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iancb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hussain's also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Brighouse, Huddersfield
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing