We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First timer”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spent a fantatastically superb evening with friends, some of whom have eaten here before.
A great choice of starters and mains with some very nice sounding puddings and sweets to follow.
I had the duck starter which was excellent, (although a litte messy as no finger bowl was offered or given), and the fish and chips as my main. The main plate was well presented and as the first bite is with the eye I was looking forward to enjoying my meal.
Unfortunately that is where the high expectation from rated reviews turns to slight dissapointment.
The fish was very flakey and washed out, not chunky and firm as expected. The batter didn't stand upto the review either. As a beer batter I was looking forward to a crispy and tasty experience, what I got was oily and a little soggy. The chips were very average and didn't taste like they were cooked in beef dripping as advertised. All very edible just not as expected.
I didn't order a pudding as I had lost my enthusiasm for anything else.
Although I was not blown away with the eating experience the evening still offered much enjoyment. The wide range of beers, wines and spirits from the bar is the best I have ever seen and very well kept and presented. The decor of the restaurant is slightly dated but still very interesting, the whole package created a wonderful atmosphere.
I would eat here again and recommend it but with resvervastion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    63
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
91
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Decided to book in for lunch and so glad we did. It was a Tuesday and the fact that it was packed at lunchtime speaks volumes. Food and service were outstanding. Lovely warm atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited with family last night and had a wonderful time. Took a while for the food to arrive but it was with the wait.... Well presented but not too fancy. Portion size about right too.
Also love that the table is yours for the evening and no pressure to leave

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Out with friends and really looking forward to our meal at the 3 acres inn, as it iwas some time since we were there, however the classic crab salad and fruit de mer have vanished from the menu .We thought the menu was quite poor and pricey. On ordering the hot seafood platter wish i hadn't bothered the mussels were cold and cold again when the waitress offered to replace them.
My husband had mixed grilled and that too was cold when served, quite embarrassing really.
Not sure what has happened to the 3 acres but it really will be some time before we return.
It really was very poor and there are much better places in and around Huddersfield.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meme1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the 3 Acres last Friday night, 10th January 2014, from we arrived until we left the staff were brilliant and the food was great. We were there, with the Family, for my Husbands 70th Birthday and had a brilliant time. The food was all locally sourced and well cooked and presented. Dinner was delicious, the breakfast was full English and was not for the faint hearted. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. We had a really lovely time. We had booked the suite and 2 doubles, the suite was great, with 2 bedrooms, as our 19 year old Grandson shared it with us. We didn't bring our other 2 Grandsons as we felt they were too young.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The three acres is our favourite place to have dinner, so we where thrilled when our daughter paid for us to stay overnight between Christmas and the new year. We were given room no.1. Although the room was spacious the decor and furniture did not match the dinning rooms downstairs. The 'golden pine' furniture wasn't what we had expected. Both myself and my husband expected a boutique feel to bedrooms
On the plus side however the breakfast was very enjoyable and plentiful. The room was warm and the bed was comfortable. Service was very good

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lirthhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We travelled over from Merseyside to have dinner with twelve other guests. The welcome, the food and wine and most of all the staff can't do enough to ensure you have an enjoyable and memorable time. First class, Team 3 Acres

Room Tip: Room One is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
539 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
726 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
7.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
877 reviews
6.5 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Property: Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing