We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Pie!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel en le Frith, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband is on a self set quest for delicious pie and he rated the steak, kidney and mushroom pie as one of the best - and I quite agree. It seems kidney has fallen from grace in many pies but it was here, deliciously soft and making a wonderful filling. The dining area we sat in could be described as 'cosy' but if you are a bit nosy you could enjoy many conversations taking place in close proximity!!! (just remember you are also overheard) that said, we did enjoy our visit and will definitely return. The location is great and the staff were lovely and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosalindG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    62
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
57
88
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to the Three Acres and I expected a fantastic meal, however, I really was disappointed. The quality and taste of food v cost is most certainly not on par. I ordered the pate starter which was nice/slightly above average but not worth nearly £11, followed by the duck which the breast was cooked lovely, however, the skin of the confit of leg was really fatty and unappetising. The overall whole dish was tasteless barring salt. I just put it down to a bad dish so I thought id follow by the marmalade pudding which again was nice/average (very small portion) but not worth the money. I'm really disappointed as I would have loved a good experience here but sadly I won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had not been to The Three Acres for some time but we were in the area so it seemed like a good idea to try it for lunch. We were disappointed with our experience and will not be going back. Service was disjointed and innattentive - everyone seemed to be rushing around but I have no idea what they were doing. They certainly didn't provide excellent service, it was difficult to attract their attention at times and my glass had been empty for some time and then I had to find someone to get me another drnk. My wife had a prawn open sandwich and the prawns had not been properly shelled so she kept finding bits of shell in her mouth - not very pleasant. I complained and after the problem had been referred to the chef we received an apology - but nothing else. At the prices this place charges it has to deliver excellence in service and food. It missed the mark for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhar7787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

A local colleague was married here a few years ago, and insisted I spend at least one night during a business trip in May 2013. "The best food in Yorkshire," he said.

Loved the location-- high and windswept-- the ample parking, and the warm welcome. The room was wonderful with lots of light, a very comfortable bed, and a lovely bath. The supper was terrific, a wonderful soup and blood sausage (can't judge the value because my colleague paid); service was friendly and efficient. Slept like a baby and woke to a beautiful dawn through large windows.

Unfortunately I had to leave at 6:30 a.m., and therefore was going to miss breakfast. But the lovely woman setting things up for it would not hear of that. She insisted on packing me up a fresh croissant, some grapes, yogurt, and a few other luscious things in a bag so I could eat on the road.

All in all, I was delighted. Am now trying to make up reasons to return to Yorkshire frequently just so I can stay here as often as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This time, again, I had the Roast Beef, far better then last time and certainly not warmed up, but a large portion is very large, next time will choose the smaller portion if I decide to have beef. Whilst the lunch time menu appears to be large, there is not much choice, the fish of the day was cooked with some strange foreign sausage rocket and garlic, enough to put off the strongest of constitutions. The prices, well they have god through the roof, Fillet Steak close on 30 quid. This time both the owners were in evidence, one of them totally ignoring people, not better then when they are in harness.

This place is certainly gong down the hill, perhaps as one customer says, try the Kay Arms, wherever this is. £90 quid for lunch and a moderate bottle of wine well, I will not mention this to my bank manager, yes we do still have one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haymaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,023 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,796 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Took the mother in law here for the first time & she loved it. Overall great food & service. Not sure where the towelling hand towels have gone in the gents, as I hate hand dryers.
Mixed grill massive, so gutted I couldn't manage a pud. Great wine list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Three Acres one Saturday evening in August. On arrival, we received a friendly welcome from the staff and initially sat on a small table in the middle of the restuarant. We felt a little uncomfortable for what we hoped would be a nice intimate meal, so after mentioning it to the waitress, we were quickly moved us to a snug corner. From then on the evening was generally enjoyable. We managed to select a decent white wine to accompany our dinner, which was well presented but unremarkable. All in all, our evening out at the Three Acres cost in the region of £80 for 2 courses plus wine in a good but not a great gastro pub.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevinrt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.5 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Property: Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing