We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, cramped accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, cramped accommodation”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A short break at the Three Acres was saved by the good food. Dinner proved a success with a straightforward approach to the preparation of fine ingredients. Service was ok, given the restaurant was full to bursting. The hotel room we had was in an annex at the rear if the hotel. It had seen better days and was cramped with the bed fronting the main door such that entry with a suitcase was an obstacle race. At least it was cool in the heat wave. Breakfast was good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    63
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
91
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the restaurant I always take guests to because the food is excellent and there's nowhere else in the area with such a good atmosphere. But last night the service was terrible. We waited 55 minutes between the starter and main course and I suspect the mains only arrived then because my partner went to find out what had happened to it. We had to re-order wine for two guests because the first order never materialised. It was an embarrassing experience for us as hosts. To cap it all, when my partner went to pay (why do they have this stupid system where you have to pay at the desk - he had to stand in a queue with 4 people in front!!) they had tried to put someone else's drinks order (amounting to almost £40) on our bill!! There was NO APOLOGY from the cashier who merely said 'well we have been very busy'. Sorry, but that's no excuse. Isn't 'busy' a good thing for a restaurant? The staff here are letting the chef down by slack service and a less than courteous manner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SRush2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had heard very good things about this restaurant so when given the drinks menu to choose from I thought a Bloody Mary would be nice to have before dinner. Not sure what happened while making it but it was like sucking a vindaloo through a straw. Disgusting. I was being treated by a friend and felt embarrassed to complain but just had to as it was Un drinkable. The Manager was very gracious and gave me a very small glass of red wine in exchange. The food however did live up to expectations but again if being charged over £30 for a steak I expect it to be perfect. The meat had excellent flavour but the chips where a bit too rustic for my liking, lots of little hard crunchy bits etc. I expected more finesse. The menu also lacked class as it was a laminated card which just didn't fit with the message the venue is trying to portray.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went for a ladies lunch and always enjoy the Three Acres. Wonderful meal in relaxing and interesting atmosphere. Service efficient and thankfully no interruptions during our meal. (I hate being asked if everything is ok; if it isn't I'll say so.) Delicious glass of house white and steak sandwich with field mushrooms and Stilton. Some reviewers have complained about the price but the quality and quantity of the dishes make it fair value. The best restaurant in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We ate here as part of a large party, ranging in age from 22 to 92 and had a wonderful meal. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was beautifully presented and delicious. There was plenty of choice, including interesting vegetarian options. Even though we were a large party all the food arrived at the same time and was hot when it came to the table. The dessert choice was wonderful and for those who could not choose there was a sampler plate to share. A very enjoyable experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmh1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ate here again for Sunday lunch with our friends during the early May Bank Holiday. Staff were very pleasant, but service was abit slow in places. Our food was very enjoyable, and I once again had the prawn and crayfish cocktail followed by some perfectly cooked and tender rib of beef. I do thin Sun lunch is good value, but I do question the value proposition regards the normal menu. Yes, it's good quality, but the price does tend to slightly exceed the quality equation. I'm sure we will revisit for Sunday lunch in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Clearly a big step up from just about any other restaurant in the area - eg: one dining area is named the 'Krug room' (or something like that). Fabulous wine list, menu includes a seafood platter with fresh oysters etc. Sky-high reputation and beautiful setting. Huge car park full of 4x4 BMW's / mercs etc.

Unfortunately, when I last ate there it was a real disappointment: my (very expensive) bottle of burgundy was over warm (volatile even) the pigeon was tough, at this price level one expects considerably better. My daughter loved the 'fish and chips' with mushy peas and chips - but that's not really why one goes to such a place. We kind of felt ripped off. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank me-myself-i-tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
537 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
725 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
7.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
876 reviews
6.5 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Property: Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing