We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a stay!”
Review of The Woodman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woodman Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Positives -
Recently renovated country pub / B&B and all to a very high quality.
Home from home feel
Good quality fixtures and fittings
Room size was spot one - very nicely decorated with good quality furnishings
Great bathroom - double size shower all fitted out to a high finish
Very clean and tidy throughout
Bar / Breakfast staff were very attentive and helpful - well trained and came across 'happy' in their roles
Evening meals were of a high 'a la carte' quality - fish & ships highly recommended
Breakfast, again, of a very high quality - good selection of the usual items cooked to order
All food presented to a very good standard. They also sell Thwaites extra smooth - lovely!

Negatives -
Struggling to find any really - minor point, the menu is limited and the specials board contained only four / five additional meals. However, the quality as mentioned is very good!
Not the cheapest meals - but I suppose you do pay for the quality & skill of the chef so happy to pay a premium price.
Access to accommodation area via stair ways, however, staff very happy to help out with luggage and did offer assistance - nice touch.

Conclusion -
Definitely worth a stay - will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 402 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We used to visit the Woodman regularly when we lived in the area and my husband even proposed to me there. [He cannot remember!] Was in Huddersfield for 2 days and went to the Woodman for Sunday lunch on the spur of the moment . Previous recent visits had not been particularly impressive but with newish managers/owners? we liked the new lookand the food. It was excellent and a reasonable price too compared to what we normally pay in the South East. Lots of quality meat , 2 different types of potatoes, a good YP and a good selection of veg. Most enjoyable with a good atmosphere in the bar area. Young staff who were very good, wished I had thought about staying here but forgot they had rooms ,will remember for the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a last minute Sunday special treat,we used the area to go for a walk and then checked in at 2pm.We got the "Woodman suite" which is used for the bride and groom when they host weddings! Wow it's was great all nice furniture and fittings,double walk-in shower!!! Everything was spot on and all for £39 B&B can't fault it.We will be returning here in the future that's a certainty.

Room Tip: Pot luck as I booked via booking.com but same price on their website so if you ring them you could a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAILEDTOSTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Woodman Inn last night (Sunday) only booking it the day before through booking.com for £39 including breakfast !!!!! After doing a local 6 mile walk we arrived at the Woodman at 2.30pm to check in at the bar. We were shown to our room to then discover that we were staying in Room 10 (The Woodman Suite) which is also the Bridal Suite!!!! We could not believe it as the room was amazing. The room was faultless. Lovely Temple Spa bathroom toiletries etc. Unfortunately we did not eat here in the evening as they only serve Sunday lunch so we opted to eat somewhere else. Breakfast the next morning was very nice. The only slight complaint was the the sausage was slightly cold but for the price we paid, we felt that there was no reason for us to complain. The staff were very friendly and we would not hesitate in staying here again even if we paid the full price for the room. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Woodman Suite was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northyorkslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here just for the one night and had a lovely time. You check in at the pub bar and then are taken up to your room. I was surprised at how lovely the rooms are, they are very spacious and decorated really well with everything you might need. The staff are all attentive and the breakfast (which was included) was very nice. The pub it's self is a nice busy, but not too busy place with a roaring wood fire making it seem homely. The area in and around the hotel is beautiful. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful one night away with my husband , beautiful accomodation fantastic food and the restaurant manager on the night was perfect . Breakfast the following morning was also top notch we will be returning with friends nothing too much trouble x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first visit for about six months. The restaurant is as well furnished and maintained as ever. The staff are exceptionally friendly and competent, but unfortunately the price of food has increased significantly and portion size has decreased, It appears they are attempting to go up market and change the type of establishment - shame!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Beverley127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
774 reviews
6.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 14 in Huddersfield
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
7.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 21 in Huddersfield
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodman Inn

Address: Thunderbridge Lane | Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: $83 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Woodman Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Woodman Inn has been transformed throughout to offer guests a relaxed experience in luxury surroundings.The Woodman Inn offers a warm cozy pub downstairs and a more refined dining experience in our first floor restaurant which can also be hired out privately for weddings/functions etc...We now have 10 double bedrooms & 3 cottages all with luxurious en-suite facilities and toiletries provided by Temple Spa, digital televisions and complimentary WiFi available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Woodman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodman Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing