We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT what is says in the reviews!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Inns Huddersfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Inns Huddersfield
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“NOT what is says in the reviews!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is NOT a Travelodge any more. After looking at recent reviews, I thought why the big down hill slide? National company and such terrible comments by guests, didn't`t make sense. Now I`m told that it a `Metro Inn` operated by a completely new company.
Now is the time to the old and new operators to make clear to travellers and Trip advisor users to make it clear what this venue actually is.
J.M

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    25
    12
    19
See reviews for
20
30
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked a night here last minute, which has just been taken over by Metro Inns. It was prior to emergency surgery in Huddersfield. I had a bath after checking in, went to dry my face on the towel to find a faeces stain. My boyfriend took this to the receptionist who told us to come back in the morning to speak with the manager!

During the night the sheet came loose and we found the mattress was heavily stained... with god knows what?!

Upon checking out we went to speak with the manager Christian who was extremely unhelpful and in no way apologetic. He explained they are having a refurb in January - as if this excused the dirtiness now! I explained that it wasnt acceptable and wanted a refund. He said he would give us a 50% refund and that we should have asked for a change of room! I said the onus should not be on the customer but his staff who did not offer this.

After 20min arguing with him he reluctantly agreed to give us the refund and we left feeling stressed out on our way to hospital.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicTilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fire doors wedged open

Lacklustre staff

Mildew

Drafty

Odd location, even the Little Chef next door closed down.

The adjoining petrol station is the only source of sustenance other than the pub across the (quite busy) road. If pubs aren't your thing you better bring a packed lunch!

Room Tip: Upstairs (rooms 2XX) are quieter and there's slightly less light pollution from the car park/pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_explorer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Served a purpose. Certainly in need of a refurb. Bathroom was clean but grubby...
Bed was soft and lumpy and noise from neighbouring depot was disturbing.
Good job they don't offer a good night sleep guarantee !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting family in the area and will not be returning to this hotel, if you can call it that! Whilst it was a cheap room we expected it to be basic but certainly not filthy like we found. I was loathed to sleep in this family room with our toddler, if it hadn't been so late we would have left. Here are a few examples of how we found the room, large holes in the walls, some repaired with filler and not painted. Chipped paint, dirty light switches, worn chipboard tables, worn dusty carpets, dirty bathroom floor, damp mouldy rancid bathroom, brown nets, dirty windowsills, stained towels and a kettle so dirty you could almost write your name in it. No staff around when we checked out. Have complained direct.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsEJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Whilst the Travelodge is showing its age in terms of furnishings, and the adjacent boarded up ex Little Chef restaurant appears off putting, it was well located,exceptionally clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. It is next door to a Shell Petrol station and convenience store which was very useful too. I would stay here again without hesitation - excellent value for a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poulshotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Travelodge is in desperate need of refurbishment. Quite scruffy and very poor bed. Mouldy bathroom. No seatback on the sofa. Staff are fine and friendly. I would not choose to stay there again until improvements are made.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Bradford M62
Days Inn Bradford M62
#1 of 1 in Hartshead Moor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Huddersfield

Property: Metro Inns Huddersfield
Address: Leeds Road, Huddersfield WF14 0BY, England (Formerly Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Inns Huddersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Metro Inns Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield Hotel Huddersfield
Travel Lodge Mirfield
Travelodge Mirfield
Mirfield Travel Lodge
Mirfield Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing