We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Inns Huddersfield
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I know Travelodges are cheap and cheerful but really this place is disgusting.

Dirty rooms, dirty lampshades, ripped and tatty seats. Dirty net curtains. Filthy lampshades and a disgusting mould infected bathroom that stunk of mildew and dampness.

No staff to be seen.

This is by far the worst Travelodge I have had the misfortune to stay in, even worse than Slough and Terminal 5 and that's saying something.

What a dump.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yazoofiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Huddersfield, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Yazoofiend

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    26
    13
    19
See reviews for
21
31
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tired place and shabby room. Was clean though but the location is noisy as its on a busy junction next to a busy petrol station. Lorries and sirens all night!

Dont think i'd go back there. Not much more to say really, just so so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinglepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Huddersfield, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Tinglepeg,

Thank you for your post. I am sorry to learn you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion.

We do hope that all of our customers get a good night's sleep when staying with us. Due to the central location, some noise might be heard, however we will try to tell our customers by putting details on our website. We also try to reduce the noise from outside the hotel by having double glazing and insulated walls.

Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

Cheshunt
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Awful hotel. I regularly stay in travelodges across the country and this is by far the worst.

The little chef is boarded up and closed down. The hotel backs onto a petrol station forecourt and is a shell of a hotel.

No bar, no restaurant. 1 miserable unhelpful staff member in the entire place who refused to give us an extra pillow

Hairs in bed so obviously had not been cleaned properly.

An absolute hole of a travelodge and not cheap at £48!!! Go to the premier inn nearby for an extra tenner!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We've stayed at this Travelodge 2 years running the last weekend in December before Xmas, its clean, adequate for our needs, Little Chef on site, bus stop outside where you can get a bus to Huddersfield one way and Leeds the other, so no need to worry about car parking. There's a pub turn left and up the hill towards Leeds, 10 min walk, very good value food & drink for money, plus a pub opposite serving slightly more expensive and possibly better food, but dearer drinks. Easy to find and Mirfield village is not far away with shops and eating places.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and although only paid £19, it was still poor. Holes in the sideboard near to where the kettle was. Holes in the bed linen and pillows that can hardly be called pillows. Went to ask for more pillows but got told the hotel was full and therefore there were none available. Stayed in many travelodges and this was the worst - seems like it is pot luck with regards to travelodge!

Room Tip: Don't have room 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorcesterBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend because we were going to see Sheffield Wednesday v Huddersfield down the road, it's ok for a night, was cheap but we have been in better, wouldn't recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos_The_Villain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Have stayed at other travelodges before and know what to expect with it being basic. This was terrible though. We arrived late so went straight to bed and on waking up found that somebody previously had been sick down the side of the bed and onto the floor. An attempt had been made to clean it up but it was still clearly visible. Looking at the photos, it looks remarkably like the picture taken in September, which would mean it has been like it for two months!!!

The bathroom was grubby with mould all around the bath. The room had water marks down the wall and across the ceiling, obviously from a previous leak. The sideboard looked like it had been chewed and needs replacing.

The problem is that Travelodge run on reduced staff and obviously need more to get things up to scratch.

Very disgusting and won't be stopping at Travelodge again.

Room Tip: Don't use room 213 or 215 (unsure which one we stayed in)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ibbz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
314 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
290 reviews
3.6 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Bradford M62
Days Inn Bradford M62
#1 of 1 in Hartshead Moor
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Huddersfield

Property: Metro Inns Huddersfield
Address: Leeds Road, Huddersfield WF14 0BY, England (Formerly Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Inns Huddersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Metro Inns Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield Hotel Huddersfield
Travel Lodge Mirfield
Travelodge Mirfield
Mirfield Travel Lodge
Mirfield Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing