We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marimonte

Marimonte
Ranked #77 of 568 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are Mediterranean restaurant we provides a unique way of healthy eating. Your dish can be prepared by one of our experienced chef's or on the lava rock. We offer a selection of meat dishes, from our award winning meat supplier, including chef specials.We are on Facebook & Twitter
Brighouse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top class restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spotted this place a while ago but only went in last Friday. Hadn't booked a table beforehand and a nice lad called Callum sorted us out without any fuss! Great food - fish dishes were excellent and delightfully cooked. Only thing was to disappoint was the total space for dining... could be rather crowded and noisey if a lot of people in. Best eat early for quiet couples.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    69
    29
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Me & my girlfriend tried Marimonte for the first time this evening and we were very impressed.
The most impressive part of our experience was the service, a Guy called Callum took our order and knew the menu inside and out he really was the best member of staff for us very helpful and friendly. We ordered the swordfish special and a rump steak both were amazing!
We will defiantly be going back.... at last another good spot to eat in Huddersfield.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenBamforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great meal cook your own steak!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were recommended marimonte by a friend wasn't too sure on cook your own steak but she assured us we would like it, she wasn't wrong the food was lovely. On arriving we were early as we had travelled a hour to get there it wasn't a problem and we sat at our table, the waitress came over and explained how it works, we ordered our food. We had starters which were lovely, then the mains came, the waiter came over explained what to do and we cooked our own steaks, it was brilliant don't know why there isn't more restaurants like it. Didn't have desserts as we were stuffed!! We will definitely be travelling a hour to visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marimonte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Been here on several occasions, never had a bad meal, service is friendly and you get what ou ask for, you not rushed in or out, and I will be going back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place but takes an AGE to get your food!””
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The restaurant itself is very nice and was very lively when we arrived around 8pm. We were a party of 6, had visiting family and this was our first time at Marimonte.

We decided to order mains and have deserts if we were still hungry, as we were so looking forward to the steaks. We were however also enticed by the specials board for surf and turf (Steak, Tiger prawns and Swordfish).

All was well apart from the clock kept ticking, over an hour before the waiter came back to tell us there was no swordfish left and can we choose something else!! We opted for the marlin (which was very nice) but we were then sat for another 45 minutes before the food arrived! However we were given a bottle of the house red to keep us amused until the food arrived. But on its final appearance two steaks had to go back as they were now overcooked! :-(

Overall the staff were very nice but the food took FAR too long to arrive and it would have been nice to get the steak cooked as requested after waiting for an hour and forty five minutes for it to arrive. Sorry but not really somewhere I'll rush out to visit next time :-(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marimonte also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Marimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing