We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”
Review of Alexandra House Spa - CLOSED

Alexandra House Spa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Please note that we have moved premises - we're still open but in a wonderful new location. See our new listing, Alexandra House Holistic Health and Wellbeing Spa, Huddersfield
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquil”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As soon as I walked through the doors I felt relaxed and the beauty therapists were very welcoming. My feet were placed in a lovely foot spa whilst I looked out in to the gardens. I was then whisked up to heaven where Sue was waiting. She then performed the most amazing marine body wrap and indian head massage. To finish the day I was treated to a strawberry doughnut. I would totally recommend Alexandra House Spa and I will be back with a friend soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank clarerouke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi, it was great to welcome you to the spa and glad you enjoyed your afternoon of pampering here. It'll be great to see you here again with your friend too. See you soon, Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    5
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing heaven”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is one of the most relaxing and peaceful spas ive ever been to. Its not one of those fancy places with lots of beauty treatments such as nails etc, but it is a very good professional place. would highly recommend

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for recommending our spa on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your review! Hope to welcome you to the spa again soon. Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just what we needed”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I visited with 5 other women last week.It was a treat to ourselves after a long year as tutors/teachers/admin staff.Everything was great,the building,the location,the greeting,the hospitality and the treatments.We either had the foot ritual or the back massage and both were excellent.I have had back treatments before as I have a lower back issue and the masseur listened to my needs and was wonderful.If I was rich,I would have this treatment weekly.We enjoyed a lovely,fresh sandwich lunch,smoothies and fruit teas.All made us feel pampered but virtuous.The staff managed the perfect balance of looking after our needs but not being overly available so we were allowed to sit and relax,chat,catch up with each other and enjoy the environment [a nice glassed extension with views of a lush garden].We reluctantly left after what seemed like days.I would recommend Alexandra House to anyone in need of some time out of their day to day lives.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janelikeseating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! It sounds like you and your friends had a good time here and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to our spa. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you to the spa again. Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very personal service”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I went to alexandra house with my friend for a birthday treat and we were not disappointed. We were greeted at the front door by maxine the owner and given a very warm welcome. We were taken into a lovely relaxation area and given a delicious healthy smoothie and a relaxing foot soak
After changing we were taken to our our beautiful treatment rooms and had 60 mins of pure bliss .Our therapists were very experienced and nurturing which isn't aways the case in spas.
Afterwards we were taken to a lovely chill out room were we were offered some lovely home made cake and refreshments. It was a lovely end to the day and we were made to feel very special .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sbertenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It was really nice to read your review of our spa - glad that you had such a lovely time here. We strive to give a really personal service and it's always good to hear when clients appreciate that. And great to hear that you enjoyed the treatments (and cakes) too! Look forward to welcoming you to the spa again. Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Treat for mum”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took my mum to Alexandra House for a treat, I got a good deal from Last Minute. The staff were freindly and helpful. They came to ask my mum questions after she had filled out the information form and were thorough to ensure her physical wellbeing. We both enjoyed our treatments and had a lovely relaxing time at the spa. We will be looking out for more deals to go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gacuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi, it's really nice of you to write your review and we're glad to hear that you and your Mum enjoyed your spa day with us. We do have our own offers so make sure that you receive our newsletters (email us if you didn;t leave your email address) and you can follow us on Facebook (alexandrahousespa) to see all of our offers. Thanks again, Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandra House Spa also viewed

 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing