We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food In Huddersfield”
Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Ranked #35 of 523 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Charming country pub now fully refurbished. Cosy atmosphere, great fresh food, exciting drinks list and warm hospitality. A Prime British Pub With A Continental Twist!
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Owned by a French person, this is the best restaurant in this area. Perfect cooking. English with the standards of the French. 21st July 2013.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi there, and thanks for your short but very sweet review! To have our food described as the best food in Huddersfield is really great for us. Anthony is very proud of his French roots and the food that he serves at The Bulls Head; he was so happy with your comments recognising this. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 414 of 482 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

had a great meal and superb wine from mine host anton will be visiting again soon
afterwards mines a wine and a cigar
perfect end to a perfect day

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gr123travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Hi there, and thanks for giving us 5 out of 5 on your kind review. Anton, Mel and the team will be so pleased to hear your comments. We are always happy when our customers are happy! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited on a Monday evening, in the past having eaten there many times at lunchtime. As ever a warm welcome the staff are all really nice. Four of us were eating, and our starters were pawns, the halloumi cheese tartlets, and 2 choose the calamari, the prawns and the tartlets were lovely, but my husband and my friend felt let down by 7 pieces of calamari for £6 95 a bit pricey we thought, main courses of fish stew, chicken, and beef bourgion were very tasty, but again it was felt the beef bourgion was a slightly small portion. Overall it was a lovely meal, in a nice setting, the Bulls Head isn't cheap so a bit more calamari please it's my husbands favourite !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi there, and thanks for your kind review of our pub. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals but were slightly disappointed by the portion size of the calamari. This dish is a starter and so is naturally "appetizer" sized, although if you want it as a main dish, we can accomodate that no problem. Of course, Anthony has taken on board your feedback and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your experience, just let us know at the time, and your wish will be our command!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We go here often and the food is always superb and beautifully presented. The staff are very friendly and professional and the service is always brilliant even when its very busy. The menu is updated often to make sure there's something for everyone's taste with a variety of specials and offers. The recent refurb has made the place look bright and inviting and there's always a very friendly and cheerful atmosphere. There's also a good selection of beers and wines to suit everyone. All you could ever want from a proper country pub! I'd highly recommend you visit here because if you go once you would definitely want to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeandLaura2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi there and thanks for such a fabulous write up on The Bulls Head. Anthony, Melanie and the team are so pleased with your comments, and it's great to hear that their hard work is appreciated. It is always such a buzz for us to get such a lovely review as yours so many thanks for taking the time to recommend us. We will no doubt see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went sunday as we were visiting family in the area and this had good reports from the brother in law.We had 2 lamb 1bee fand 1 salmon which were presented and cooked well.Only slight downside was the Salmon was served with bacon in the cabbage which obviously bothered the vege who ordered it.and we would have liked every meal to have been served with roasties,Two of the party had desrerts and both commented that they would have liked a bit more icecream with their choc fudge cakes but their just greedy.Overall a very clean pub with excellent high chair for our little one

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi there, and thanks for your candid review of our pub. It's always nice to hear from satisfied customers, and it seems you had an enjoyable visit. Do ask for anything you require on your next visit, as if we can do it, we will! We have a "nothing is too much trouble" approach to service, and a little extra of something, or something done a little differently is always no problem. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing