We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Ranked #47 of 572 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Charming country pub now fully refurbished. Cosy atmosphere, great fresh food, exciting drinks list and warm hospitality. A Prime British Pub With A Continental Twist!
cambs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

had a great meal and superb wine from mine host anton will be visiting again soon
afterwards mines a wine and a cigar
perfect end to a perfect day

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gr123travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi there, and thanks for giving us 5 out of 5 on your kind review. Anton, Mel and the team will be so pleased to hear your comments. We are always happy when our customers are happy! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    89
    34
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited on a Monday evening, in the past having eaten there many times at lunchtime. As ever a warm welcome the staff are all really nice. Four of us were eating, and our starters were pawns, the halloumi cheese tartlets, and 2 choose the calamari, the prawns and the tartlets were lovely, but my husband and my friend felt let down by 7 pieces of calamari for £6 95 a bit pricey we thought, main courses of fish stew, chicken, and beef bourgion were very tasty, but again it was felt the beef bourgion was a slightly small portion. Overall it was a lovely meal, in a nice setting, the Bulls Head isn't cheap so a bit more calamari please it's my husbands favourite !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi there, and thanks for your kind review of our pub. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals but were slightly disappointed by the portion size of the calamari. This dish is a starter and so is naturally "appetizer" sized, although if you want it as a main dish, we can accomodate that no problem. Of course, Anthony has taken on board your feedback and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your experience, just let us know at the time, and your wish will be our command!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We go here often and the food is always superb and beautifully presented. The staff are very friendly and professional and the service is always brilliant even when its very busy. The menu is updated often to make sure there's something for everyone's taste with a variety of specials and offers. The recent refurb has made the place look bright and inviting and there's always a very friendly and cheerful atmosphere. There's also a good selection of beers and wines to suit everyone. All you could ever want from a proper country pub! I'd highly recommend you visit here because if you go once you would definitely want to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeandLaura2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi there and thanks for such a fabulous write up on The Bulls Head. Anthony, Melanie and the team are so pleased with your comments, and it's great to hear that their hard work is appreciated. It is always such a buzz for us to get such a lovely review as yours so many thanks for taking the time to recommend us. We will no doubt see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went sunday as we were visiting family in the area and this had good reports from the brother in law.We had 2 lamb 1bee fand 1 salmon which were presented and cooked well.Only slight downside was the Salmon was served with bacon in the cabbage which obviously bothered the vege who ordered it.and we would have liked every meal to have been served with roasties,Two of the party had desrerts and both commented that they would have liked a bit more icecream with their choc fudge cakes but their just greedy.Overall a very clean pub with excellent high chair for our little one

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi there, and thanks for your candid review of our pub. It's always nice to hear from satisfied customers, and it seems you had an enjoyable visit. Do ask for anything you require on your next visit, as if we can do it, we will! We have a "nothing is too much trouble" approach to service, and a little extra of something, or something done a little differently is always no problem. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch food, and an atmosphere to match!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been to the Bull's Head on a couple of family occasions in the past (before the revamp) and was never bowled over by it. Previously it was a little bland and the food seemed over priced for what was a bog standard effort at pub grub.
But as we had read good reviews since the refurbishment, we thought we would give it another chance and we are very glad we did!
There were 6 of us in total and it was a belated fathers day celebration so we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely atmosphere in the bar areas, very inviting and perfect for conversation over a few pre-dinner drinks.
The choice on the menu is great, there really is something for every taste and we all had a hard time choosing because there were so many delicious sounding dishes.
We particularly liked that everything was cooked to our liking, my parents are very fussy when it comes to steak but even they said it was the best cooked steak they'd eaten for a long time.
We had a range of meat, fish and specials within our group, but we all agreed that the food was really excellent quality produce, cooked perfectly and beautifully presented.
There was a good balance between pub and restaurant and, although there were people enjoying themselves in the bar area, this didn't impeach on the dining experience. And although it was very busy, the service we received was still excellent, the staff were all very courteous and polite, and genuinely helpful.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the evening and as there was so much to choose from, I think we will be looking for another excuse to come and try the rest of the menu very soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickerbockaglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi there, and thanks for your very kind review of The Bulls Head. We have quite a simple concept; a wide range of fabulous fresh food at affordable prices, served with genuine warmth. It's great to hear you appreciated this, and we appreciate your feedback too! As you mention, we have been extremely busy since our refurbishment, and we feel that always cooking our meals to personal preferences reaps dividends. It's great to hear that you will be back to sample some more of our menu in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks once again for your recommendation of our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing