We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Ranked #47 of 572 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Charming country pub now fully refurbished. Cosy atmosphere, great fresh food, exciting drinks list and warm hospitality. A Prime British Pub With A Continental Twist!
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I called in for lunch after a walk. I chose the Salt Beef sandwich and my wife chose the Chicken BLT.

Both were superb!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCustards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
hi there, and thanks for your "short but sweet" review of our pub. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit, as "superb" is the standard we strive to deliver. Our bar snacks menu is great for those out for a walk in the lovely countryside surrounding us, and of course we have a more substantial menu for those wanting more than a sandwich. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    89
    34
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linthwaite, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best Roast Beef Ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Short and straight to the point - best roast beef I have ever had in any restaurant/ pub, ever! Food is of a consistently high quality and the Sagres is good too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi there Gareth, thanks for your great review of The Bulls Head. We have been busy undertaking a major refurbishment, so apologies it has taken a little time to respond to you. We are now re-open in fabulous surroundings, and we continue to deliver great food, drinks and hospitality. We hope you come and try the new-look Bulls Head very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pie to die for!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband made an impromptu stop at the Bulls Head for a late lunch, it has changed hands a couple of times recently so we were a little intrepid, but being almost our local we wanted to give it another go, and we weren't disappointed.

We both went for the ham hock and leek pie, recommended by the landlord, and what a good recommendation, wow it was fab and super filling, yes the chunky chips are still as good as they ever were.

The atmosphere is also as good as ever, very welcoming, we will be back soon

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise44_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Louise, We are really chuffed that you had a great experience at The Bulls Head and took the time write. We do have a great menu of home cooked food and are over the moon that you thought our pie was "to die for!". It really is pleasing when people write to tell us that we are getting it right, and we appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope to see you soon, and hope you will have another 5-star visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ate at the Bull's Head on Saturday 08.12.12. It was my husband's birthday. He couldn't decide where to eat, due to snow earlier in the week. Eventually we decided not to go far and as members of a 'Thursday Fellowship Meeting' who had their Annual Dinner there in November, we decided to return, as we had been impressed. I was pleased to have a number of choices of food that I could eat (I have a sensitivity to dairy & yeast products) Eventually, I choose a mixed grill and my husband choose a Lasagne. Neither of us had room for a sweet course. In fact I was so impressed, that I am considering booking their function room for husband' s ' big' birthday celebration next year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upwarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi there, and thanks for your glowing review of The Bulls Head. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We do pride ourselves on our menu choice, good sized portions, and great presentation. It is nice to know we impressed you. We look forward to welcoming you back for your husband's big birthday (21 again?) or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEAUJOLAIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

hi i went for a meal on thursday to try the beaujolais night and the food was fantasic and the service was very good i sure will be going back to try the rest of the menu and it's a must eat place

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
hi there, many thanks for your great review of your evening at The Bulls Head. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Beaujolais event and thought the food fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to try the rest of our constantly evolving menu. We are continuously updating our menu to reflect what's fresh, in season, and local. it's our first birthday party this Thursday (22nd Nov) and we will be serving complimentary game pie (including locally shot pheasant from The Farnley Estate). Please feel free to join us. There will be free nibbles etc as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing